Colin Stetson announces new album, shares video for lead single “Spindrift” — watch

The saxophonist's first solo album in four years, All This I Do For Glory was inspired by Aphex Twin


    Photo by Peter Gannushkin

    Colin Stetson has announced a new record entitled All This I Do For Glory. It’s the saxophonist’s first solo album since he finished his New History Warfare trilogy in 2013 and directly follows last year’s reimagining of Górecki’s third symphony, SORROW.

    Due out April 28th, the album is described as “a reasoning and exploration of the machinations of ambition and legacy, an examination of the concepts of afterlife, and the first half of a doomed love story in the model of the greek tragedies.” Aesthetically, the concept takes influence from electronic artists like Aphex Twin and Autechre, even as all the music itself was captured live without overdubs or loops.

    As a first listen, Stetson has shared the video for lead single “Spindrift”. It’s an ambient track that clearly harkens to those electronic influences, and you can take a listen via the clip below.


    Pre-orders for All This I Do For Glory are going on here. Find the album info below.

    All This I Do For Glory Album Artwork:

    colin stetson all this i do for glory Colin Stetson announces new album, shares video for lead single Spindrift    watch

    All This I Do For Glory Tracklist:
    01. All This I Do For Glory
    02. Like Wolves On The Fold
    03. Between Water And Wind
    04. Spindrift
    05. In The Clinches
    06. The Lure Of The Mine

Personalized Stories

Around The Web