Michelle Branch returns with new single “Hopeless Romantic”, produced by The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney — listen

From her first album in 14 years, due out this spring


    On April 7th, Michelle Branch is set to return with her first album in 14 years, Hopeless Romantic. The 14-track collection is the follow-up to 2003’s Grammy-nominated Hotel Paper and marks her third overall.

    Hopeless Romantic was co-written and co-produced by The Black Keys drummer Patrick Carney, whom Branch also happens to be dating. Gus Seyffert (Beck, Sia) provided additional production, and both Morgan Kibby, previously of M83, and Atlas Genius’ Keith Jeffery have songwriting credits.

    “A lot of these songs are about heartbreak, but knowing that it doesn’t mean the end of the world,” Branch explains in a press release. “It just means letting go and moving on and knowing that you’re going to be okay. This is my first real-life autobiographical record.” Last month, Branch previewed a number of these tracks at an intimate show in New York, where she was backed not only by Carney but also fellow couple Alaina Moore and Patrick Riley of Tennis.


    The title track, released today, serves as the album’s lead single. As promised, the song has rock ‘n’ roll vibes — a smokier and slightly edgier sound, perhaps a result of Carney’s bluesy Black Keys time spent in Nashville. Stream it down below.

    Hopeless Romantic Tracklist:
    01. Best You Ever
    02. You’re Good
    03. Fault Line
    04. Heartbreak Now
    05. Hopeless Romantic
    06. Living a Lie
    07. Knock Yourself Out
    08. Temporary Feeling
    09. Carry Me Home
    10. Not A Love Song
    11. Last Night
    12. Bad Side
    13. Shadow
    14. City


Personalized Stories

Around The Web