Alex G announces new album, Rocket, shares two songs — listen

The 14-track album, his second with indie label Domino, drops on May 19th


    In 2015, lo-fi wunderkind Alex G (née Alex Giannascoli) emerged from his bedroom to release the excellent Beach Music via indie heavy-hitter Domino. Since then, he’s kept busy touring the festival circuit, collaborating with Frank Ocean, and prepping for his next LP, which we’ve now learned is called Rocket. The 14-track album will drop via Domino on May 19th.

    In anticipation, Giannascoli has released two tracks from the album. The first, “Bobby”, evokes a campfire singalong with rhythmic strums, lazy harmonies, and the flourish of a swooning fiddle. Accompanying the song is a video that’s every bit as laid back as the song, with weirdo animations overlaying shots of industrial Philadelphia and a live performance in an empty warehouse.

    Giannascoli has also shared the song “Witch”, a spookier, more abstract cut with shadowy, echoing vocals and discordant strings. Check them out below along with Rocket‘s artwork and tracklist.


    Rocket Artwork:

    rocket Alex G announces new album, Rocket, shares two songs — listen


    Rocket Tracklist:
    01. Poison Root
    02. Proud
    03. County
    04. Bobby
    05. Witch
    06. Horse
    07. Brick
    08. Sportstar
    09. Judge
    10. Rocket
    11. Powerful Man
    12. Alina
    13. Big Fish
    14. Guilty

Around The Web