Melvins announce first-ever double album, A Walk with Love and Death

The sprawling, 23-track collection arrives in July


    Photo by Nina Corcoran

    Melvins issued not one but two LPs in 2016 with Basses Loaded and Three Men and a Baby, their long-in-the-works collaboration with godheadSilo’s Mike Kunka. Showing zero signs of slowing down, they’ve returned today with plans to release yet full-length, and it’s a biggie: A Walk with Love and Death marks the band’s first-ever double album.

    Due out July 7th via Ipecac, the forthcoming collection finds Buzz Osborne, Dale Crover and Steve McDonald “showcasing two distinct sides to the band’s music: Death, a proper Melvins’ release and Love, the score to the Jesse Nieminen directed, self-produced short also titled A Walk With Love and Death.” Special guest collaborators on the record include Joey Santiago of The Pixies, Teri Gender Bender of Le Butcherettes/Crystal Fairy and Anna Waronker from That Dog.

    “This was a huge undertaking,” explained Osborne in a press statement, “All three things: the album, the soundtrack and the film are benchmarks for us.” Crover chimed in, adding, “A Walk With Love and Death is one giant, dark, moody, psychotic head trip! Not for the faint of heart. You’ll sleep with the lights on after listening.” Summer tour dates in support of the LP are forthcoming.


    As a small taste of what’s to come, Melvins have shared a trailer for the short film. Check it out below.

    A Walk With Love and Death Tracklist:

    01. Aim High
    02. Queen Powder Party
    03. Street Level St. Paul
    04. The Hidden Joice
    05. Give It to Me
    06. Chicken Butt
    07. Eat Yourself Out
    08. Scooba
    09. Halfway to the Bakersfield Mall
    10. Pacoima Normal
    11. Park Head
    12. T-Burg
    13. Track Star
    14. The Asshole Bastard

    01. Black Hearth
    02. Sober-delic (acid only)
    03. Euthanasia
    04. What’s Wrong with You
    05. Edgar the Elephant
    06. Christ Hammer
    07. Flaming Creature
    08. Cactus Party
    09. Cardboro Negro