Acoustic version of Paul Westerberg’s “Dyslexic Heart” soundtracks Singles behind-the-scenes video — watch

A rare track from The Replacements member coming to CD for the first time on the Singles OST reissue


    This Friday, May 19th, Sony will release a deluxe reissue of the classic Singles soundtrack to celebrate its 25th anniversary. In addition to the original album’s 13 era-defining tracks, the new edition will include 18 rare and unreleased songs on a bonus CD. Among those are a number of contributions from the late Chris Cornell, including the Soundgarden frontman’s entire 1992 EP, Poncier, and a pair of tracks never before made available. His recent and unexpected passing makes the reissue’s timing perhaps even more poignant.

    In anticipation of the release, Sony has today debuted a behind-the-scenes video from the set of Cameron Crowe’s seminal grunge film soundtracked by one of the OST’s rarities. Paul Westerberg’s “Dyslexic Heart” was part of the original version, but this acoustic take of one of the Replacements member’s first solo recordings has never previously been shared on CD.

    Check it out by watching the video above. The behind the scenes footage is from Josh Taft and was created and courtesy of Cameron’s official website, The Uncool.


    The reissue also includes new liner notes and track-by-track descriptions by Crowe. It’ll be available in 2xCD and 2xLP sets as well as a digital release. The double-LP will include the bonus CD as an insert.

    Singles Soundtrack (Deluxe Edition) CD Tracklist:
    Disc 1:
    01. Alice in Chains – Would?
    02. Pearl Jam – Breath
    03. Chris Cornell – Seasons
    04. Paul Westerberg – Dyslexic Heart
    05. The Lovemongers – Battle of Evermore
    06. Mother Love Bone – Chloe Dancer / Crown of Thorns
    07. Soundgarden – Birth Ritual
    08. Pearl Jam – State of Love and Trust
    09. Mudhoney – Overblown
    10. Paul Westerberg – Waiting for Somebody
    11. Jimi Hendrix – May This Be Love
    12. Screaming Trees – Nearly Lost You
    13. The Smashing Pumpkins – Drown

    Disc 2:
    01. Citizen Dick – Touch Me I’m Dick
    02. Chris Cornell – Nowhere But You
    03. Chris Cornell- Spoonman
    04. Chris Cornell – Flutter Girl
    05. Chris Cornell – Missing
    06. Alice in Chains – Would?
    07. Alice in Chains – It Ain’t Like That
    08. Soundgarden – Birth Ritual
    09. Paul Westerberg – Dyslexic Heart
    10. Paul Westerberg – Waiting for Somebody
    11. Mudhoney – Overblown
    12. Truly – Heart and Lungs
    13. Blood Circus – Six Foot Under
    14. Mike McCready – Singles Blues 1
    15. Paul Westerberg – Blue Heart
    16. Paul Westerberg – Lost in Emily’s Woods
    17. Chris Cornell – Ferry Boat #3
    18. Chris Cornell – Score Piece #4