Mogwai announce new album, Every Country’s Sun, share “Coolverine” — listen

The Scottish prog-rock outfit also maps out an extensive tour

Mogwai, photo by Brian Sweeney
Mogwai, photo by Brian Sweeney

    Photo by​ ​Brian Sweeny

    Mogwai hasn’t exactly been silent since releasing their last studio album, 2014’s Rave Tapes. They put out a reworking of their soundtrack to the BBC documentary Storyville – Atomic: Living in Dread and Promisesimply entitled Atomic, last summer. And in the fall, they teamed with Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, and Gustavo Santaolalla on the soundtrack to Leonardo DiCaprio’s climate change documentary, Before the FloodStill, the Scottish prog-rock outfit hasn’t technically released a true full-length follow-up to Rave Tapes, but that will change later this summer.

    The band has announced a September 1st release for Every Country’s Sun, their ninth LP and first since the departure of guitarist John Cummings, who left in late 2015. Coming from Temporary Residence (Rock Action in the UK and Spunk in Australia), the album was produced by David Lawrence (The Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev). After sharing ideas via Dropbox, the band met up at Fridmann’s Tarbox Road Studios in Chautauqua County, NY to record the 11-track effort.

    “What’s going on in the world politically and socially has to affect you,” guitarist Stuart Braithwaite, who also sings on the record, said in a statement. “It was very much on our minds, especially in America. We were vaguely getting over the Scottish referendum, then the death of David Bowie, along comes Brexit, and then Trump. The album was written in a very turbulent, intense period so I think it maybe feels like some kind of shield from that? That’s maybe just my take. Because it literally was for me.”


    As a first listen, Mogwai has shared the album’s lead single, “Coolverine”. Take a listen below.

    Pre-orders for Every Country’s Sun are going on here. A deluxe edition will come pressed on opaque white 180-gram vinyl and include the album on CD, a 12-inch featuring six unreleased demos, and a set of seven exclusive photos. All vinyl pre-orders, including the deluxe version, come with a 7-inch single version of the album track “Party in the Dark”. Find the tracklist and album art below.

    Every Country’s Sun Album Art:

    trr291 mogwai ecs cover hi res 1500x1500px 1024x1024 Mogwai announce new album, Every Country’s Sun, share Coolverine    listen

    Every Country’s Sun Deluxe Version:

    trr291dlx white vinyl display a 1024x1024 Mogwai announce new album, Every Country’s Sun, share Coolverine    listen

    Every Country’s Sun Tracklist:
    01. Coolverine
    02. Party In The Dark
    03. Brain Sweeties
    04. Crossing The Road Material
    05. aka 47
    06. 20 Size
    07. 1000 Foot Face
    08. Don’t Believe The Fife
    09. Battered At The Scramble
    10. Old Poisons
    11. Every Country’s Sun


    Deluxe Edition Bonus 12-inch:
    01. Acoustic Wash Demo Rough Mix
    02. Baritone 2 Demo Rough Mix
    03. Bass Tuned To C Demo Rough Mix
    04. Bends Demo Rough Mix
    05. Frez Demo Rough Mix
    06. Ludicrous Ripper Demo Rough Mix

    In support of the new album, Mogwai’s mapped out an extensive tour, including a North American leg tour kicking off in November.

    Mogwai 2017 Tour Dates:
    08/10 – Hobart, AU @ Dark Mofo
    08/19 – Tokyo, JP @ Hostess Club All-Nighter
    09/08 – Portmeirion, UK @ Festival No.6
    10/10 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller Music Hall
    10/11 – Stockholm, SE @ Nobelberget
    10/12 – Malmo, SE @ KB
    10/13 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
    10/14 – Berlin, DE @ Columbiahalle
    10/16 – Hamburg, DE @ Docks
    10/17 – Cologne, DE @ E-Werk
    10/18 – Lille, FR @ L’Aeronef
    10/20 – Brussels, BE @ AB Main Hall
    10/22 – Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli
    10/23 – Paris, FR @ Le Grand Rex
    10/25 – Madrid, ES @ Riviera
    10/26 – Basel, CH @ Reithalle
    10/27 – Milan, IT @ Fabrique
    10/28 – Rome, IT @ Atlantico
    10/29 – Bologna, ITT @ Estragon
    10/31 – Prague, CZ @ Roxy
    11/01 – Vienna, AT @ Arena
    11/02 – Leipzig, DE @ Taubchenthal
    11/03 – Munich, DE @ Backstage-Werk
    11/20 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory N. Park
    11/21 – Los Angeles, CA @ Belasco Theater
    11/22 – San Francisco, CA @ Regency Ballroom
    11/23 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
    11/24 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
    11/25 – Vancouver, BC @ Commodore Ballroom
    11/28 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
    11/30 – Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room
    12/01 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
    12/02 – Chicago, IL @ House of Blues
    12/03 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
    12/05 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
    12/06 – Montreal, QC @ Corona Theatre
    12/07 – Boston, MA @ Royale Nightclub
    12/08 – New York, NY @ Terminal 5
    12/09 – Philadelphia, PA @ Theatre of Living Arts
    12/10 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club


Personalized Stories

Around The Web