Cornelius reveals video for shapeshifting new song “Sometime / Someplace” — watch

Another preview of the Japanese producer's first album since 2006


    Photo by Masayoshi Sukita

    This summer, veteran producer Cornelius is set to return with a new album called Mellow Waves. The 10-track effort represents the Blur and MGMT associate’s first in over a decade following Sensuous in 2006. After teasing with last month’s “If You’re Here”, which was peppered with jazzy electronics, the musician born Keigo Oyamada has unboxed a track called “Sometime / Someplace”.

    Here, waves of bossa nova coexist alongside squelching guitars and the wub-wub of thick synths. It’s a four-minute track of contrasting textures and unpredictable melodies, and further proof that his “Japanese Beck” nickname is well-deserved.

    Check it out below via its entrancing video, directed by Yugo Nakamura.

    Mellow Waves lands in stores July 21st via Rostrum Records (June 28th in Japan)

    Mellow Waves Tracklist:
    01. If You’re Here
    02. Sometime / Someplace
    03. Dear Future Person
    04. Surfing on Mind Wave pt 2
    05. In a Dream
    06. Helix / Spiral
    07. Mellow Yellow Feel
    08. The Spell of a Vanishing Loveliness
    09. The Rain Song
    10. Crépuscule