David Bowie’s Berlin years get exhaustive box set A New Career in a New Town (1977-1982): Stream

The set focuses on Bowie's artistically fruitful and cocaine addled period living with Iggy Pop in Germany


    Today, David Bowie’s famed “Berlin Trilogy” gets an exciting and thorough box set from Parlaphone Records entitled, David Bowie: A New Career in a New Town (1977-1982). The 11-CD, 13-LP collection centers around the three records Bowie made while living in Berlin—1977’s Low, 1977’s “Heroes”, and 1979’s Lodger—while the legend was sharing both an apartment and a massive cocaine addiction with Iggy Pop. The art rock trifecta produced some of Bowie’s most innovative and influential work, and it is exhaustively covered here.

    The box set, which is the third in a career-spanning series and comes on the heels of David Bowie Five Years (1969-1973) and David Bowie Who Can I Be Now? (1974-1976), features new mixes from longtime Bowie producer Tony Visconti of both Lodger and Bowie’s 1978 live album Stage (which features two new tracks), a new compilation entitled Re:Call 3 which features remastered contemporary single versions, non-album singles and b-sides, and songs featured on soundtracks.

    The set also features the “Heroes” EP, a compilation collecting the German and French album and single versions of the track in one place for the first time, 1980’s Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps), 1982’s Baal EP (which is appearing for the first time on CD), a 128-page hardback book, press clippings from the time, technical notes from Visconti as well as a massive photo book featuring the work of the likes of Anton Corbijin and Helmut Newton—as I said: this thing is gloriously exhaustive.


    A New Career in a New Town (1977-1982 Box Set Artwork:

    Box Set Contents:
    128 Page hardback book
    Low (Remastered) (1CD)
    “Heroes” (Remastered) (1CD)
    “Heroes” E.P. (Remastered) (CD EP) *
    Stage (Original Mix) (Remastered) (2CD) *
    Stage (2017 Mix) (Remastered) (2CD)
    Lodger (Remastered) (1CD)
    Lodger (Tony Visconti 2017 Mix) (1CD) *
    Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (1CD)
    Re:Call 3 (Non Album Singles, Single Versions and B-sides) (Remastered) (1CD) *

    * Exclusive to A New Career in a New Town

    A New Career in a New Town (1977-1982) CD & Vinyl Track Tracklist:

    Side 1
    01. Speed Of Life
    02. Breaking Glass
    03. What In The World
    04. Sound And Vision
    05. Always Crashing In The Same Car
    06. Be My Wife
    07. A New Career In A New Town


    Side 2
    01. Warszawa
    02. Art Decade
    03. Weeping Wall
    04. Subterraneans

    Side 1
    01. Beauty And The Beast
    02. Joe The Lion
    03. ‘Heroes’
    04. Sons Of The Silent Age
    05. Blackout

    Side 2
    01. V-2 Schneider
    02. Sense Of Doubt
    03. Moss Garden
    04. Neuköln
    05. The Secret Life Of Arabia

    “Heroes” E.P.
    Side 1
    01. ‘Heroes’/ ‘Helden’ (German Album Version)
    02. ‘Helden’ (German Single Version)


    Side 2
    01. ‘Heroes’/ ‘Héros’ (French Album Version)
    02. ‘Héros’ (French Single Version)

    Stage (Original Mix)
    Side 1
    01. Hang On To Yourself
    02. Ziggy Stardust
    03. Five Years
    04. Soul Love
    05. Star

    Side 2
    01. Station To Station
    02. Fame
    03. TVC 15

    Side 3
    01. Warszawa
    02. Speed Of Life
    03. Art Decade
    04. Sense Of Doubt
    05. Breaking Glass

    Side 4
    01. ‘Heroes’
    02. What In The World
    03. Blackout
    04. Beauty And The Beast

    Stage (2017 Mix)
    Side 1
    01. Warszawa
    02. ‘Heroes’
    03. What In The World

    Side 2
    01. Be My Wife
    02. The Jean Genie *
    03. Blackout
    04. Sense Of Doubt

    Side 3
    01. Speed Of Life
    02. Breaking Glass
    03. Beauty And The Beast
    04. Fame

    Side 4
    01. Five Years
    02. Soul Love
    03. Star
    04. Hang On To Yourself
    05. Ziggy Stardust
    06. Suffragette City *


    Side 5
    01. Art Decade
    02. Alabama Song
    03. Station To Station

    Side 6
    01. Stay
    02. TVC 15

    * = Previously unreleased

    Lodger (2017 Tony Visconti mix)
    Side 1
    01. Fantastic Voyage
    02. African Night Flight
    03. Move On
    04. Yassassin (Turkish for: Long Live)
    05. Red Sails

    Side 2
    01. D.J.”
    02. Look Back In Anger
    03. Boys Keep Swinging
    04. Repetition
    05. Red Money

    Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
    Side 1
    01. It’s No Game (Part 1)
    02. Up The Hill Backwards
    03. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps)
    04. Ashes To Ashes
    05. Fashion

    Side 2
    01. Teenage Wildlife
    02. Scream Like A Baby
    03. Kingdom Come
    04. Because You’re Young
    05. It’s No Game (Part 2)


    Re:Call 3
    Side 1
    01. ‘Heroes’ (Single Version)
    02. Beauty And The Beast (Extended Version)
    03. Breaking Glass (Australian Single Version)
    04. Yassassin (Single Version)
    05. D.J. (Single Version)

    Side 2
    01. Alabama Song
    02. Space Oddity (1979 version)
    03. Ashes To Ashes (Single Version)
    04. Fashion (Single Version)
    05. Scary Monsters (And Super Creeps) (Single Version)

    Side 3
    01. Crystal Japan
    02. Under Pressure (Single Version) – Queen and David Bowie
    03. Cat People (Putting Out Fire) (Soundtrack Album Version)
    04. Peace On Earth/Little Drummer Boy * – David Bowie and Bing Crosby


    * = Mono

    Side 4
    Bertolt Brecht’s Baal
    01. Baal’s Hymn
    02. Remembering Marie A.
    03. Ballad Of The Adventurers
    04. The Drowned Girl
    05. The Dirty Song