Grandaddy announce Under the Western Freeway vinyl reissue, share unreleased track: Stream

The California indie rockers are celebrating the 20th anniversary of their debut album


    This year marks the 20th anniversary of Grandaddy’s renowned debut album, Under The Western Freeway. The band is commemorating the occasion with a deluxe vinyl reissue scheduled for release on October 20th.

    The expanded set uncovers eight previously unreleased tracks and demos, including early versions of songs like “Bjork ELO Xanadu and the Birth of Chartsengrafs” and “For The Dishwasher”. Also included is a booklet of personal band photographs, flyers, and liner notes written by Gruff Rhys of Super Furry Animals. The first 250 orders will also receive a bonus cassette, Practice 97, which lets you hear eight more unreleased recordings as they unfold during a 1997 band practice.

    In advance, the band has released one of the reissue’s unreleased tracks, the taut, lo-fi “Hawaiian Island Wranglers”. Listen to it below.


    Back in March, Grandaddy released one of our favorite albums of 2017 so far with Last Place, which marked their first full-length effort of original material in 11 years. Tragically, the band’s bassist, Kevin Garcia, passed away in May after suffering a stroke.

    Under The Western Freeway: 20th Anniversary Edition Artwork:

    unnamed 35 Grandaddy announce Under the Western Freeway vinyl reissue, share unreleased track: Stream


    Under The Western Freeway: 20th Anniversary Edition Tracklist:
    01. Nonphenomenal Lineage
    02. A.M. 180
    03. Collective Dreamwish of Upperclass Elegance
    04. Summer Here Kids
    05. Laughing Stock
    06. Under the Western Freeway
    07. Everything Beautiful Is Far Away
    08. Poisoned at Hartsy Thai Food
    09. Go Progress Chrome
    10. Why Took Your Advice
    11. Lawn & So On

    Unreleased 1997 demos
    01. Hawaiian Island Wranglers
    02. For the Dishwasher (Slow Demo)
    03. Dying Brains (Early Demo)
    04. Summer Here Kids (Early Demo)
    05. Le symphonique d’HeeHaw
    06. Street Bunny (Fluffy Distortion Demo)
    07. Bjork ELO Xanadu and The Birth of Chartsengrafs
    08. Laughing Stock (Revelation Demo)

    Practice ’97
    01. I’m Not Alright
    02. Summer Here Kids
    03. Taster
    04. I’m In Love WIth No One
    05. Everything Beautiful is Far Away
    06. Street Bunny
    07. Lawn & So On
    08. Levitz


Personalized Stories