Kelela reveals debut album Take Me Apart: Stream/download

R&B singer couples intimacy and futuristic beats with the help of producers Ariel Rechtshaid, Arca, and more

photo by Campbell Addy

    Photo by Campbell Addy

    Kelela has finally released her long-awaited debut album, Take Me Apart, through Warp Records. Apple Music and Spotify users can listen in full below.

    Take Me Apart follows Kelela’s 2014 EP, Hallucinogen, and her 2013 breakthrough mixtape, Cut 4 Me. It also comes after her recent contribution to Gorillaz’s latest LP, Humanz.

    (Read: The 25 Most Anticipated Albums of Fall 2017)

    According to the R&B singer, the LP is “an honest vision of how we navigate dissolving ties with each other and yet remain sanguine for the next chance at love.” It’s also an intimate reflection on her own self and the experiences and outside forces that’ve shaped her into the person she is today:

    “Despite it being a personal record, the politics of my identity informs how it sounds and how I choose to articulate my vulnerability and strength. I am a black woman, a second-generation Ethiopian-American, who grew up in the ‘burbs listening to R&B, Jazz and Björk. All of it comes out in one way or another.”


    Among the record’s 14 tracks are the three early singles, “Frontline”“LMK”, and “Waitin”. The entire project was executive produced by Ariel Rechtshaid (Adele, Solange) and features additional production from Arca (Frank Ocean, Björk), Al Shux (JAY-Z, Alicia Keys), Bok Bok, Kingdom, and Jam City. The xx’s own Romy Madley Croft lent her songwriting talents to a few tracks, as did Beyoncé affiliate Jordan Asher, aka Boots.

    Kelela will support the record with a fall tour throughout Europe and North America, including a date alongside Solange.


    Take Me Apart Artwork: 

    kelela take me apart stream album download Kelela reveals debut album Take Me Apart: Stream/download

    Take Me Apart Tracklist:
    01. Frontline
    02. Waitin
    03. Take Me Apart
    04. Enough
    05. Jupiter
    06. Better
    07. LMK
    08. Truth Or Dare
    09. S.O.S.
    10. Blue Light
    11. Onanon
    12. Turn To Dust
    13. Bluff
    14. Altadena

Around The Web