Speedy Ortiz announce new album, Twerp Verse, share video for lead single, “Lucky 88”: Watch

Plus, the Northampton indie outfit reveal a run of North American summer tour dates

Speedy Ortiz, photo by Shervin Lainez
Speedy Ortiz, photo by Shervin Lainez

    Speedy Ortiz have announced a new album, Twerp Verse. The Northampton indie outfit’s third LP overall and follow-up to 2015’s excellent Foil Deer is out April 27th via Carpark. It marks their first full-length with guitarist Andy Molholt (Laser Background), who replaced Devin McKnight after he left to front Maneka last summer.

    Produced by Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes, Rilo Kiley) and mastered by Emily Lazar (Sia, HAIM), Twerp Verse is actually the band’s second attempt at a new record. They’d recorded a different album in the fall of 2016, only to scrap it following the election. “The songs on the album that were strictly personal or lovey dovey just didn’t mean anything to me anymore,” singer/songwriter Sadie Dupuis said in a press release. “That’s not the kind of music I’ve found healing or motivating in the past few years, and I was surprised I’d written so much of it.”

    So, Dupuis spent the next four months working on new material that was unafraid to address the cultural and political turmoil around her. She also pulled in some of the pop influences she’d explored in her Sad13 solo project, leading to perhaps Speedy Ortiz’s most accessible music yet.


    Our first listen comes via lead single “Lucky 88”, a disillusioned vibration of synths and snappy percussion. The lyrics find Dupuis losing faith in the system she was taught to trust, a theme reflected in director Emily Yoshida’s accompanying video. In the clip, it’s the ease of life-at-your-fingertips presented by technology that provokes apathy even as the world around you becomes covered in slime. Check out the video below.

    Pre-orders for Twerp Verse are available here or at Carpark’s website. The Dupuis-designed album art and tracklist are below.

    Twerp Verse Artwork:

    Speedy Ortiz - Twerp Verse album art

    Twerp Verse Tracklist:
    01. Buck Me Off
    02. Lean In When I Suffer
    03. Lucky 88
    04. Can I Kiss You?
    05. Backslidin’
    06. Villain
    07. I’m Blessed
    08. Sport Death
    09. Alone with Girls
    10. Moving In
    11. You Hate The Title


    Speedy Ortiz will support their latest effort with a round of North American tour dates this summer. Find the docket below.

    Speedy Ortiz 2018 Tour Dates:
    03/13-16 – Austin, TX @ South by Southwest
    04/21 – Lansing, MI @ Stoopfest
    05/03 – Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom
    05/05 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat
    05/07 – Norfolk, VA @ Charlie’s American Cafe
    05/08 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook
    05/09 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade – Purgatory
    05/10 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt
    05/12 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
    05/13 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
    05/14 – Toronto, ON @ The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
    05/15 – Montreal, QC @ La Vitrola
    05/17 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
    05/29 – Lakewood, OH @ Mahall’s
    05/30 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar
    06/01 – Little Rock, AR @ Stickyz Rock’n’Roll Chicken Shack
    06/02 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda
    06/03 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
    06/05 – Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge
    06/06 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
    06/07 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
    06/09 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club
    06/10 – San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Nord
    06/12 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
    06/13 – Seattle, WA @ The Vera Project
    06/14 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux
    06/16 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
    06/17 – Omaha, NE @ Reverb
    06/19 – St. Louis, MO @ Blueberry Hill’s Duck Room
    06/20 – Indianapolis, IN @ The Hi-Fi