The Flaming Lips announce deluxe reissues of their earliest recordings

Including material from the band's first two cassette demos and first self-released EP

The Flaming Lips, photo by Philip Cosores
The Flaming Lips, photo by Philip Cosores

    With The Flaming Lips‘ enduring relevance—be it through timely collaborations, ballsy experiments, or the ability to still offend—it’s easy to forget that they’ve been a band for more than 30 years. Now, that history will be unearthed and explored with a series of new reissues from Rhino and Warner Bros. Records.

    On April 20th, the labels will release Scratching the Door: The First Recordings of the Flaming Lips, a 19-track compilation of cuts from the band’s original lineup, which featured frontman Wayne Coyne’s brother, Mark, on vocals. This is the first time these songs—which are taken from the band’s first two cassette demos and first self-released EP—have ever been collected on a single release. There’s also a few covers, including The Who’s “Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere” and Led Zeppelin’s “Communication Breakdown”. Each song has been remastered from the original sources by longtime producer David Fridmann, as well as the Lips’ Coyne and Michael Ivins.

    (Read: The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne Breaks Down His Entire Discography)

    Even more ambitious is Seeing the Unseeable: The Complete Studio Recordings of The Flaming Lips: 1986-1990, a six-CD boxed set comprised of the band’s first four studio albums with Restless Records, as well as two discs of rarities. The four albums—1986’s Hear It Is, 1987’s Oh My Gawd!!!…The Flaming Lips, 1989’s Telepathic Surgery, and 1990’s In A Priest Driven Ambulance (With Silver Sunshine Stares)—have each been remastered from the original 1/4-inch analog tape masters. The rarities feature b-sides in addition to songs originally collected on compilations, demos, and flexi discs. It’s due for release on May 25th.


    That’s not all, either. A press release promises “a slew of vinyl reissues, including remasters of the Restless albums.”

    In related news, The Flaming Lips recently announced new US tour dates, and you can grab tickets here.

    Scratching the Door: The First Recordings of the Flaming Lips Tracklist:
    01. Bag Full Of Thoughts
    02. Out For A Walk
    03. Garden Of Eyes
    04. Forever Is A Long Time
    05. Scratchin’ The Door
    06. My Own Planet
    07. Killer On The Radio
    08. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
    09. Batman Theme
    10. Handsome Johnny
    11. Flaming Lips Theme Song 1983
    12. The Future Is Gone
    13. Underground Pharmacist
    14. Real Fast Words
    15. Groove Room
    16. Jesus Shootin’ Heroin
    17. Trains, Brains & Rain
    18. Communication Breakdown
    19. Summertime Blues


    Seeing the Unseeable: The Complete Studio Recordings of The Flaming Lips: 1986-1990 Tracklist:
    Disc One: Hear It Is
    01. With You
    02. Unplugged
    03. Trains, Brains and Rain
    04. Jesus Shootin’ Heroin
    05. Just Like Before
    06. She Is Death
    07. Charlie Manson Blues
    08. Man From Pakistan
    09. Godzilla Flick
    10. Staring At Sound/With You (Reprise)

    Disc Two: Oh My Gawd!!!…The Flaming Lips
    01. Everything’s Explodin’
    02. One Million Billionth Of A Millisecond On A Sunday Morning
    03. Maximum Dream For Evil Knievel
    04. Can’t Exist
    05. Ode to C.C. (Part I)
    06. The Ceiling Is Bendin’
    07. Prescription: Love
    08. Thanks To You
    09. Can’t Stop The Spring
    10. Ode To C.C. (Part II)
    11. Love Yer Brain

    Disc Three: Telepathic Surgery
    01. Drug Machine In Heaven
    02. Right Now
    03. Michael, Time To Wake Up
    04. Chrome Plated Suicide
    05. Hari-Krishna Stomp Wagon (Fuck Led Zeppelin)
    06. Miracle On 42nd Street
    07. Fryin’ Up
    08. Hell’s Angel’s Cracker Factory
    09. U.F.O. Story
    10. Redneck School Of Technology
    11. Shaved Gorilla
    12. The Spontaneous Combustion Of John
    13. The Last Drop Of Morning Dew
    14. Begs and Achin’


    Disc Four: In A Priest Driven Ambulance (With Silver Sunshine Stares)
    01. Shine On Sweet Jesus – Jesus Song No. 5
    02. Unconsciously Screamin’
    03. Rainin’ Babies
    04. Take Meta Mars
    05. Five Stop Mother Superior Rain
    06. Stand In Line
    07. God Walks Among Us Now – Jesus Song No. 6
    08. There You Are – Jesus Song No. 7
    09. Mountain Side
    10. What A Wonderful World

    Disc Five: Restless Rarities
    01. Death Valley ’69
    02. Thank You
    03. Can’t Stop The Spring – Remix
    04. After The Gold Rush
    05. Death Trippin’ At Sunrise
    06. Drug Machine In Heaven – Sub Pop 7-inch version
    07. Strychnine/Peace, Love And Understanding
    08. Lucifer Rising
    09. Ma, I Didn’t Notice
    10. Let Me Be It
    11. She’s Gone Mad Again
    12. Golden Hearse
    13. Stand In Line
    14. I Want To Kill My Brother; The Cymbal Head
    15. Five Stop Mother Superior Rain

    Disc Six: The Mushroom Tapes
    01. Take Meta Mars
    02. Mountain Side
    03. There You Are
    04. Five Stop Mother Superior Rain
    05. Rainin’ Babies
    06. Unconsciously Screamin’
    07. Stand In Line
    08. God’s A Wheeler Dealer
    09. Agonizing
    10. One Shot
    11. Cold Day
    12. Jam