David Byrne unveils first solo album in 14 years, American Utopia: Stream

Featuring songs co-written with Brian Eno and collaborations with Oneohtrix Point Never and Sampha

David Byrne, photo by Jody Rogac
David Byrne, photo by Jody Rogac

    Today, David Byrne returns with American Utopia, his first solo album in nine years. Apple Music and Spotify subscribers can stream it below.

    Due out via Todomundo/Nonesuch Records, the full-length marks the art-rock auteur’s first release since his 2012 collaboration with St. Vincent, Love This Giantand is his first solo full-length since 2004’s Grown Backwards.

    American Utopia was recorded at Byrne’s home studio as well as XL Studios, Oscilloscope, and London’s Livingston Studio 1, among other locations, and features production from Rodaidh McDonald (The xx, King Krule, Savages). Byrne was assisted by special guest collaborators like Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never), SamphaJam City, St. Vincent producer Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman), and Jack Peñate. A number of the 11 tracks were co-written by Byrne’s longtime collaborator Brian Eno.


    As its name suggests, American Utopia is said to focus on the search for that idyllic way of living. “The [album] title refers not to a specific utopia, but rather to our longing, frustration, aspirations, fears, and hopes regarding what could be possible, what else is possible,” Byrne said in a statement. “The description, the discontent and the desire — I have a feeling that is what these songs touch on.”

    In support of the LP, Byrne will head out on a tour featuring what he calls “the most ambitious show I’ve done since the shows that were filmed for Stop Making Sense.” Find his full itinerary here, and grab tickets here.


    American Utopia Artwork:

    American Utopia Tracklist:
    01. I Dance Like This
    02. Gasoline And Dirty Sheets
    03. Every Day Is A Miracle
    04. Dog’s Mind
    05. This Is That
    06. It’s Not Dark Up Here
    07. Bullet
    08. Doing The Right Thing
    09. Everybody’s Coming To My House
    10. Here