Eight new David Bowie records to be released in the coming month

A series of vinyl reissues and rarities are forthcoming, including a demo version of "Let's Dance"; the 1977 promotional LP Bowie Now; and two live releases

David Bowie

    David Bowie is said to have prepared a number of records to be released posthumously. Among the releases to have surfaced in the two-plus years since his death: an EP of unreleased material called No Plan; an archival box set featuring the unreleased album The Gouster; reissues of the Labyrinth and The Man Who Fell to Earth soundtracks; the live album Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974); a repressing of 1971’s Bowpromo; a second archival box set chronicling Bowie’s Berlin trilogy; and an early demo version of “Let’s Dance”.

    There’s apparently plenty more still to unearth from Bowie’s vault, as the coming month will bring upwards of eight new records. Two reissues have already been announced for next month: Bowie’s 1981 compilation ChangestoBowie will go back into print on April 13th, followed on April 20th by a vinyl reissue of Aladdin Sane.

    Now, comes word of a trio of Bowie records available for Record Store Day 2018 (April 21st). The allotment includes Welcome to the Blackout (Live London ’78) featuring recordings from Bowie’s “Isolar II tour” at London’s Earls Court on June 30th and July 1st, 1978; a 12-inch single that includes the first-full length version of “Let’s Dance”; and Bowie Now, a rare US only promotional-only LP from 1977, which is receiving its first-ever commercial release.


    As if that weren’t enough, the Brooklyn Museum will be selling exclusive Bowie vinyl to coincide with the opening of the David Bowie Is exhibit. Starting today, fans can get ahold of a 7-inch reproduction of Bowie’s 1973 single “Time”/”The Prettiest Star”; a mini-LP dubbed Live in Berlin (1978) featuring eight recordings from Bowie’s May 16th, 1978 concert in Berlin; and a vinyl reissue of Bowie’s 2008 compilation, iSelect. These records are available at the museum gift store from March 2nd to July 15th.

    See the artwork and tracklistings for the various releases below:

    Welcome to the Blackout (Live London ’78) Tracklist:


    Side 1
    01. Warszawa
    02. “Heroes”
    03. What In The World

    Side 2
    01. Be My Wife
    02. The Jean Genie
    03. Blackout
    04. Sense Of Doubt

    Side 3
    01. Speed Of Life
    02. Sound And Vision
    03. Breaking Glass
    04. Fame
    05. Beauty And The Beast

    Side 4
    01. Five Years
    02. Soul Love
    03. Star
    04. Hang On To Yourself
    05. Ziggy Stardust
    06. Suffragette City

    Side 5
    01. Art Decade
    02. Alabama Song
    03. Station To Station

    Side 6
    01. TVC 15
    02. Stay
    03. Rebel Rebel

    Bowie Now Tracklist:

    Side 1
    01. V-2 Schneider
    02. Always Crashing In The Same Car
    03. Sons Of The Silent Age
    04. Breaking Glass
    05. Neuköln

    Side 2
    01. Speed Of Life
    02. Joe The Lion
    03. What In The World
    04. Blackout
    05. Weeping Wall
    06. The Secret Life Of Arabia

    Live in Berlin (1978) Tracklist:

    Side 1
    01. “Heroes”
    02. Be My Wife
    03. Blackout
    04. Sense Of Doubt

    Side 2
    01. Breaking Glass
    02. Fame
    03. Alabama Song
    04. Rebel Rebel

    iSelect Tracklist:

    Side 1
    01. Life On Mars?
    02. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing (Reprise)
    03. The Bewlay Brothers
    04. Lady Grinning Soul
    05. Win
    06. Some Are

    Side 2
    01. Teenage Wildlife
    02. Repetition
    03. Fantastic voyage
    04. Loving The Alien
    05. Time Will Crawl (MM Remix)
    06. Intro/Hang On To Yourself (from Live Santa Monica ’72)