Jack White returns with new album Boarding House Reach: Stream

The Third Man rocker unleashes his third solo album to date

Jack White
Jack White

    Today marks the release of Boarding House Reach, the new album from Jack White. Apple Music and Spotify users can stream it in full.

    The 13-track collection is White’s third solo full-length and follow-up to 2014’s Lazaretto. It was initially begun in a small apartment in Tennessee, but was eventually produced and recorded in three proper studios: Sear Sound in New York City, Capitol Studios in Los Angeles, and his own Third Man Records Studio in Nashville. White also gave in and finally began using Pro Tools during his sessions — all thanks to Chris Rock.

    (Read: Jack White in 10 Songs)

    For the sessions, the Detroit-born rocker recruited an entirely new group of musicians, including drummer Louis Cato (Beyoncé/Q-Tip/John Legend); bassist Charlotte Kemp Muhl (The Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger); bassist NeonPhoenix (Kanye West); synth players DJ Harrison and Anthony “Brew” Brewster (Fishbone, The Untouchables); keyboardist Neal Evans (Soulive/Talib Kweli/John Scofield); keyboardist Quincy McCrary (Unknown Mortal Orchestra); percussionist Bobby Allende (David Byrne); percussionist Justin Poree (Ozomotali); as well as backing vocalists Ann and Regina McCrary of gospel trio The McCrary Sisters and C.W. Stoneking, who contributes a spoken word performance on the album track “Abulia and Akrasia”. Past collaborators including drummers Daru Jones (Nas, Talib Kweli) and Carla Azar (Autolux, Depeche Mode) also appear on the album.


    Boarding House Reach contains a pair of songs whose origins date back many years. “Ice Station Zebra” is a track taken from his scrapped collaborative album with JAY-Z, while “Over and Over and Over”, goes back 13 years and was originally written for The White Stripes. Other early singles include “Connected By Love” and “Corporation”.

    Next month, White will launch an extensive tour in support of Boarding House Reach, and you can grab tickets here.


    Boarding House Reach Artwork:

    boarding house reach Jack White returns with new album Boarding House Reach: Stream

    Boarding House Reach Tracklist:
    01. Connected By Love
    02. Why Walk A Dog?
    03. Corporation
    04. Abulia and Akrasia
    05. Hypermisophoniac
    06. Ice Station Zebra
    07. Over and Over and Over
    08.Everything You’ve Ever Learned
    09. Respect Commander
    10. Ezmerelda Steals The Show
    11. Get In The Mind Shaft
    12. What’s Done Is Done
    13. Humoresque

Personalized Stories

Around The Web