QOTSA, Florence + the Machine, Q-Tip contribute to Elton John tribute album, Revamp

Revamp, one of two new Elton John tribute records, also features Coldplay, The Killers, Mumford and Sons, Pink, and Sam Smith

Artwork for Elton John's Revamp tribute album
Artwork for Elton John’s Revamp tribute album

    Ahead of his lengthy farewell tourElton John’s legendary career will be celebrated this spring with two new tribute records. Highlighting John’s decades-long writing partnership with Bernie Taupin, each album will find the pair’s music reimagined in completely different styles: Revamp is pop and rock focused while Restoration features country artists. Both are due out April 6th via Island Records and Universal Music Group Nashville, respectively.

    The Rocket Man himself curated Revamp, even reworking the classic “Bennie and the Jets” with Pink and Logic. The impressive list of contributors also includes Coldplay, Q Tip with Demi Lovato, The Killers, Queens of the Stone AgeMumford and Sons, Florence and the Machine, Mary J. Blige, Ed Sheeran, Lady Gaga, Sam Smith, and Alessia Cara.

    Miley Cyrus covered “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me”, but also did “The Bitch is Back” for Restoration. The country tribute was Taupin’s half of the project and features the likes of Chris Stapleton, Dierks Bentley, Dolly Parton, Kacey Musgraves, Willie Nelson, Emmylou Harris and Roseanne Cash, Lee Ann Womack, and others.


    “It’s always a huge compliment when an artist loves your song enough to take the time and effort to rework it,” John said in a press release. “As songwriters, Bernie and myself are thrilled when singers we admire and respect as much as those on Revamp and Restoration choose to add their own unique twist in the process. It means that our music is still relevant and ultimately that our songs continue to reach new audiences. We’re humbled and thank them all for their generosity.”

    The complete tracklist and album art for each album can be seen below.

    Revamp Artwork:

    Revamp Tracklist:
    01. Bennie and The Jets — Elton John, P!nk, Logic
    02. We All Fall In Love Sometimes — Coldplay
    03. I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues — Alessia Cara
    04. Candle In The Wind — Ed Sheeran
    05. Tiny Dancer — Florence And The Machine
    06. Someone Saved My Life Tonight — Mumford and Sons
    07. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word — Mary J. Blige
    08. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart — Q Tip feat. Demi Lovato
    09. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters — The Killers
    10. Daniel — Sam Smith
    11. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me — Miley Cyrus
    12. Your Song — Lady Gaga
    13. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road — Queens of the Stone Age

    Restoration Artwork:

    Restoration Tracklist:
    01. Rocket Man – Little Big Town
    02. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters – Maren Morris
    03. Sacrifice – Don Henley and Vince Gill
    04. Take Me To The Pilot – Brothers Osborne
    05. My Father’s Gun – Miranda Lambert
    06. I Want Love – Chris Stapleton
    07. Honky Cat – Lee Ann Womack
    08. Roy Rogers – Kacey Musgraves
    09. Please – Rhonda Vincent and Dolly Parton
    10. The Bitch Is Back – Miley Cyrus
    11. Sad Songs (Say So Much) – Dierks Bentley
    12. This Train Don’t Stop – Rosanne Cash and Emmylou Harris
    13. Border Song – Willie Nelson


    In addition to the albums, a tribute concert dubbed Elton John: I’m Still Standing A Grammy Salute is scheduled to air April 10th at 9:00-11:00 ET/PT on CBS. Many of the album contributors — including Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Lambert, Coldplay’s Chris Martin, and Cara — will also be part of the live performance. John Legend, Kesha, Shawn Mendes, and SZA are also set to make appearances.