The Gaslight Anthem announce The ’59 Sound Sessions, featuring unreleased tracks

A companion piece to The '59 Sound, it features rarities and previously unheard tracks

The Gaslight Anthem announce '59 Sound Sessions
The Gaslight Anthem

    After a three-year hiatus, The Gaslight Anthem are reuniting later this month for a tour celebrating the 10th anniversary of their sophomore record, The ’59 Sound. To coincide with this comeback, the band has announced it will release a new companion album to The ’59 Sound. Aptly titled The ’59 Sound Sessions, it’s due out June 15th through SideOneDummy Records.

    The nine-track effort features rare and previously unreleased songs, which were all recorded in the months before The Gaslight Anthem entered the studio for The ’59 Sound. Included are early versions of album favorites “Great Expectations” and “Miles Davis & The Cool”, as well as the previously unheard “Placeholder”. There’s also a cover of the folk standard “God’s Gonna Cut You Down” (made famous Johnny Cash).

    “The journey a band goes through is complex,” the band’s Benny Horowitz notes in a new 60-page booklet that accompanies The ’59 Sound Sessions. “We were perpetually on the road and in a state of constant motion. I can’t think of a better time to try and create the most significant thing of your life when it was the most significant time of all our lives. I’m so happy to share this moment of our existence.”


    Below, find the artwork and full tracklist. Grab tickets for the upcoming anniversary tour dates here.

    The ’59 Sound Sessions Artwork:

    59 sound sessions The Gaslight Anthem announce The 59 Sound Sessions, featuring unreleased tracks

    The ’59 Sound Sessions Tracklist:
    01. The ’59 Sound
    02. God’s Gonna Cut You Down
    03. Patient Ferris Wheel
    04. Miles Davis & The Cool
    05. Placeholder
    06. High Lonesome
    07. Great Expectations
    08. Our Father’s Sons
    09. Film Noir

Personalized Stories

Around The Web