Gorillaz return with new singles “Humility” and “Lake Zurich”: Stream

The first two songs from the band's upcoming sixth LP, The Now Now

Gorillaz Ben Kaye The Meadows The Now Now
Gorillaz, photo by Ben Kaye

    Remember when we had to wait years for a new Gorillaz album? That’s not the case for their sixth full-length, as Damon Albarn and co. will release The Now Now, their follow-up to last year’s Humanz, on June 29th. Today, Albarn has shared two tracks from the album in “Humility” (featuring jazz guitarist George Benson) and “Lake Zurich”. Take a listen to both below. Gorillaz co-founder Jamie Hewlett also made a video for “Humility” starring Jack Black, which you can watch below.

    Speaking to Beats 1’s Zane Lowe, Albarn revealed that the album was produced by Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford, who most recently worked with Arctic Monkeys on Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino. Unlike the guest-heavy Humanz, The Now Now features only three additional contributors: Benson, Jamie Principle, and Snoop Dogg, the latter two guesting on “Hollywood”.

    Albarn described The Now Now as a “summer record” which mostly focuses on his own singing. “I thought I should make a record where I’m just singing for once,” he explained. “It’s pretty much just me singing, very sort of in the world of 2-D. I feel really good about it. I feel really really good about it.”


    The Now Now Artwork:

    Gorillaz The Now Now Artwork

    The Now Now Tracklist:
    01. Humility (feat. George Benson)
    02. Tranz
    03. Hollywood (feat. Snoop Dogg and Jamie Principle)
    04. Kansas
    05. Sorcererz
    06. Idaho
    07. Lake Zurich
    08. Magic City
    09. Fire Flies
    10. One Percent
    11. Souk Eye

Around The Web