Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever premiere debut album, Hope Downs: Stream

The Aussie outfit's first LP for Sub Pop Records

Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever
Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever

    Melbourne’s own Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever have released their debut album, Hope Downs. Take a listen to the full LP below through Apple Music or Spotify.

    Hope Downs follows a pair of solid EPs — 2016’s Talk Tight and last year’s The French Press — and marks their first full-length for beloved indie label Sub Pop. The album’s 10 tracks were produced by Liam Judson, known for his work with fellow Aussie act Cloud Control, while recording took place in a house in the middle of the Northern NSW bush of Australia.

    The isolated nature of their recording environment influenced a good chunk of the album, including the single “Talking Straight”. “The concept came about when I heard someone talking about the possibility of us, humans, being alone in the universe, and how sad that would be,” vocalist/guitarist Joe White explained in a statement. “The idea in this song is that we might be lonely, but we could be lonely together.”


    White talked more about that special house in the countryside in an interview with Enmore Audio:

    “It was just a very pleasant environment to be in. There was none of the dark, cramped spaces of a studio. I slept outside every night and we cooked and ate outside the whole time. It was about being in a good, comfortable headspace when we went in and attacked the recording.”

    Hope Downs Artwork:

    Hope Downs Tracklist:
    01. An Air Conditioned Man
    02. Talking Straight
    03. Mainland
    04. Time In Common
    05. Sister’s Jeans
    06. Bellarine
    07. Cappuccino City
    08. Exclusive Grave
    09. How Long?
    10. The Hammer