The Cure perform career-spanning setlist at Robert Smith’s Meltdown Festival: Video + Setlist

Smith closes out his own festival with 28 songs that go back to the very beginning

The Cure, photo by Lior Phillips
The Cure, photo by Lior Phillips

    On Sunday evening, The Cure’s Robert Smith closed out his own Meltdown Festival with a career-spanning setlist in the truest sense. Appearing as Cureation 25, since the band’s forthcoming Hyde Park gig has been billed as their only European date of the year, the 28 songs performed were split into two separate sets that essentially saw Smith and the gang dusting off two songs per album.

    The first section, “From There to Here”, included one song from each of their 13 studio albums in chronological order, coming to a close with their unreleased 2016 track, “It Can Never Be the Same”. The second section, aptly dubbed “From Here to There”, kicked off with their new song, “Step Into the Light”, before going backwards through their discography, ultimately opting for “Boys Don’t Cry” over another track off Three Imaginary Boys.

    As Slicing Up Eyeballs reports, there weren’t any special guests, despite initial reports; instead, the night featured the current lineup of The Cure, which consists of bassist Simon Gallup, drummer Jason Cooper, keyboardist Roger O’Donnell, and guitarist Reeves Gabrels.

    The entire performance is available to stream below. Peep the setlist shortly after and a selection of fan-shot footage.

    From There to Here
    Three Imaginary Boys
    At Night
    Other Voices
    A Strange Day
    A Night Like This
    Like Cockatoos
    Pictures of You
    Jupiter Crash
    Us or Them
    It’s Over
    It Can Never Be the Same

    From Here to There
    Step Into the Light
    The Hungry Ghost
    The Last Day of Summer
    From the Edge of the Deep Green Sea
    If Only Tonight We Could Sleep
    Shake Dog Shake
    One Hundred Years
    A Forest
    Boys Don’t Cry