Fucked Up share epic new album Dose Your Dreams: Stream

"The politics and aesthetics of hardcore married to an ‘open format’ approach to genre," says contributor Owen Pallett

Fucked Up new album, Dose Your Dreams
Fucked Up, photo by John Londono

    Today marks the release of Toronto hardcore outfit Fucked Up’s latest opus, Dose Your Dreams. Subscribers of Apple Music and Spotify can stream it below.

    A follow-up to 2014’s Glass Boys, the 18-track album is more aligned with 2011’s David Comes To Life in scope, narrative, and character. In an interview with Billboard, frontman Damian Abraham called it “the Fucked Up opus, I think, in a very real way,” noting that the majority of the album’s music, concept, and lyrics came from guitarist Mike Haliechuk. “When it came to everything Mike proposed I was like, ‘let’s try it, I’m not going to fight you on anything on this record,’” he said. Later, he added, “When I look back at this record I’m like, ‘Thank God I didn’t fight him on any of this stuff,’ because this is his opus.”

    (Read: The 50 Albums That Shaped Punk Rock)

    Owen Pallett, who contributed string arrangements to the record, was equally enamored with the album. In a bio written for the band, he wrote, “I was sent an unfinished version of Dose Your Dreams so that I might contribute string parts. I couldn’t stop listening to the rough mixes I received. A friend asked me how the record was. I replied, “My God, Fucked Up have made their [Primal Scream’s]  Screamadelica.” He continued, “And psych-rock-groove it is. The drums mixed wide, propensity for drones, for delay pedal, for repetition, groove. The politics and aesthetics of hardcore married to an ‘open format’ approach to genre. Elements of doo-wop, krautrock, groove, digital hardcore.”


    The band previously shared music videos for pre-release singles “Raise Your Voice Joyce” and “Normal People”.

    Dose Your Dreams Artwork:


    Dose Your Dreams Tracklist:
    01. None of Your Business Man
    02. Raise Your Voice Joyce
    03. Tell Me What You See
    04. Normal People
    05. Torch to Light
    06. Talking Pictures
    07. House of Keys
    08. Dose Your Dreams
    09. Living in a Simulation
    10. I Don’t Wanna Live in this World Anymore
    11. How to Die Happy
    12. Two I’s Closed
    13. The One I Want Will Come For Me
    14. Mechanical Bull
    15. Accelerate
    16. Came Down Wrong
    17. Love Is An Island in the Sea
    18. Joy Stops Time


    Fucked Up 2018 Tour Dates:
    10/19 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
    11/03 – Ottawa, ON @ The 27 Club
    11/04 – Montreal, QC @ La Sala Rossa
    11/05 – Burlington, VT @ ArtsRiot
    11/06 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
    11/08 – Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel
    11/09 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
    11/10 – Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
    11/11 – Raleigh, NC @ Kings
    11/12 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
    11/13 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt
    12/04 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Crescent Ballroom
    12/05 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
    12/06 – Los Angeles, CA @ Echoplex
    12/07 – Pomona, CA @ The Glass House
    12/08 – Berkeley, CA @ Cornerstone
    12/10 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
    12/11 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
    12/12 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret