Ryan Adams unleashes new single “Fuck the Rain” featuring John Mayer: Stream

Adams' new album, Big Colors, also features Bob Mould, Benmont Tench, The Section Quartet, and Don Was

Ryan Adams and John Mayer
Ryan Adams and John Mayer

    On April 19th, Ryan Adams will release Big Colors, the first of three new albums he’s promised in 2019. Already, we’ve heard two tracks off the record with “Doylestown Girl” and “Manchester”, but now he’s issued the official lead single, “Fuck the Rain”.

    This time around, the shaggy singer-songwriter isn’t alone at the proverbial pinball machine. No, he’s given an assist by John Mayer, who swoops in with a guitar solo, proving once again he’s one of the more underrated axemen out there.

    “Check out this song it’s cool,” Adams says in a press release. “Or don’t- we all might die trump is president. I love you, sincerely Ryan Adams.”


    Stream the track below.

    Mayer isn’t the only name to look forward to on Big Colors. Adams is also joined by the one and only Bob Mould, Heartbreaker Benmont Tench, The Section Quartet, and producers Beatriz Artola and Don Was. That guest list mirrors previous reports that his follow-up album, Wednesdays, will feature Emmylou HarrisJason Isbell, and Tench.

    Consult the single’s artwork and the album’s full tracklist below. Adams has also announced a round of newly minted UK tour dates, which should make us Stateside fans salivate for the full-fledged US tour that’s undoubtedly coming.

    “Fuck The Rain” Artwork:

    Ryan Adams, "Fuck the Rain", New Single, 2019, Pax-Am

    Big Colors Tracklist:
    01. Big Colors
    02. Do Not Disturb
    03. It’s So Quiet, It’s Loud
    04. Fuck The Rain
    05. Doylestown Girl
    06. Dreaming You Backwards
    07. I Surrender
    08. What Am I
    09. Power
    10. Showtime
    11. In It For The Pleasure
    12. Middle Of The Line
    13. I’m Sorry And I Love You
    14. Manchester
    15. Summer Rain


    Ryan Adams 2019 Tour Dates:
    03/31 – Dublin, IR @ Olympia Theatre
    04/02 – London, UK @ Royal Albert Hall
    04/05 – Newcastle, UK @ O2 Academy
    04/06 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Academy
    04/07 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Apollo
    04/09 – Glasgow, UK @ Royal Concert Hall
    04/10 – Sheffield, UK @ O2 Academy
    04/11 – Cambridge, UK @ Corn Exchange