Toro Y Moi shares new album, Outer Peace: Stream

Chaz Bear delivers an early listen of his new full-length

toro y moi outer peace album stream
Toro Y Moi, photo by Jack Bool

    Toro Y Moi returns today with his new album, Outer Peace. Subscribers of the Apple Music and Spotify can listen to the full 10-track LP below.

    The follow-up to 2017’s Boo Boo, Outer Peace finds Toro Y Moi mastermind Chaz Bear taking his sound in a funky new direction. A number of collaborators assisted him in “music for a creative mind,” icluding WET (“Monte Carlo”), ABRA (“Miss Me”), and Instupendo (“50-50”).

    Speaking with NPR, Bear called that latter collaboration one of his favorite songs on the LP:

    “It’s very forwardly pop. It’s more of a straightforward pop song, and that’s something that I’ve always been afraid to attack: something that’s so simple, it’s just a sub and vocals with Auto-Tune. To me, that recipe was always like, ‘Eh, that’s cliché.’ But to take those cliché elements and try to do something fresh with it was the challenge, and I really enjoyed that.”


    Bear also said Outer Space is geared towards computer-based creatives. “Technology is allowing people to become creative at home and become almost like entrepreneurs just from their desks,” he said. “I felt like that’s who I really wanted to connect with [on this album] — the people that are grinding behind the computer in a creative way.”

    Toro Y Moi will support the album with a short winter tour.


    Outer Peace Artwork:

    Toro Y Moi Outer Peace Album Cover Artwork

    Outer Peace Tracklist:
    01. Fading
    02. Oridnary Pleasure
    03. Laws of the Universe
    04. Miss Me (feat. ABRA)
    05. New House
    06. Baby Drive It Down
    07. Freelance
    08. Who Am I
    09. Monte Carlo (feat. WET)
    10. 50-50 (feat. Instupendo)


Personalized Stories

Around The Web