PJ Harvey releases six new songs as part of The Virtues soundtrack: Stream

In addition to a music video for the song "The Crowded Cell"

PJ Harvey The Virtues Soundtrack New Songs Stream Ben Kaye
PJ Harvey, photo by Ben Kaye

    While we all await a proper follow-up to The Hope Six Demolition Project, PJ Harvey has spent her time contributing to visual media projects. There was her recent score for a stage production of All About Eve, which followed last year’s song “An Acre of Land” from the British thriller Dark River. Now, the inimitable artist is back with six new tracks as part of the soundtrack the Channel 4 mini-series The Virtues.

    Created by Shane Meadows, The Virtues tells the story of Joseph (Stephen Graham), a man coming to grips with his identity as he uncovers repressed memories and seeks revenge. Speaking of contributing the new music for the series, PJ Harvey said in a press release,

    “I am so happy to have provided the original music for this extraordinary and powerful new drama by a director I have admired and followed all my life. Shane has a unique directness and sensibility to his work which I am drawn to and aspire to in my own work, so our collaboration was open and trusting. I sent Shane ideas as demos for him to try out as he edited and let him choose what he used and where to greatest effect. In the end we both loved how the demos worked so left them as they were, again adding to the raw beauty of the piece.”


    Harvey previously released the soundtrack single “The Crowded Cell”, and below you can stream the rest of her contributions to The Virtues: “Prayer”, “Submerge”, “Death”, “The Lonely Wolf”, and “Subterranean”. Other tracks on the OST come from Aphex Twin, Lisa Hannigan, Set Fire to Flames, and MONO.

    The Virtues Soundtrack Artwork:

    PJ Harvey The Virtues TV soundtrackThe Virtues Soundtrack Tracklist:
    01. PJ Harvey – Prayer
    02. Set Fire To Flames – When Sorrow Shoots Her Darts
    03. Toydrum – Jesus Song (Rival Consoles Rework)
    04. Micah P. Hinson – Beneath The Rose
    05. PJ Harvey – Submerge
    06. PJ Harvey – Death
    07. Lisa Hannigan – Flowers
    08. MONO – The Flames Beyond The Cold Mountain
    09. Aphex Twin – Gwely Mernans
    10. Ted Barnes ft. Gavin Clark – If The Truth Hurts
    11. PJ Harvey – The Lonely Wolf
    12. Gazelle Twin – Cutting Into Flesh
    13. PJ Harvey – Subterranean
    14, PJ Harvey – The Crowded Cell

    Harvey has also shared the video for “The Crowded Cell”, which features VHS-shot footage of Lee Pepper as the younger version of Joseph. Watch that below.