Jónsi and Alex Somers announce 10th anniversary reissue of Riceboy Sleeps

The new vinyl edition will expand to three discs and contain the All Animals EP

Jónsi Alex Somers Reissue Riceboy Sleeps
Jónsi and Alex Somers

    Jónsi and Alex’s gorgeous ambient debut Riceboy Sleeps is getting a special 10th anniversary reissue.

    A collaboration between Sigur Rós frontman Jónsi and his partner, visual artist and musician Alex Somers, Riceboy Sleeps began with a picture book of the same name released in 2006. The record arrived three years later, to the delight and befuddlement of Sigur Rós fans. Jónsi & Alex’s work is more ethereal and less structured than Sigur Rós’, with sweeping tracks that linger in beautiful moments without a sense of time.

    The album underwent an analog remaster for the reissue, leading to what the duo calls “the definitive pressing of the record.” Originally a double-LP, the anniversary edition has added a third vinyl featuring the 30-minute All Animals EP that came packaged with the CD version of Riceboy Sleeps. All of it is pressed on 140-gram vinyl and packaged in a gatefold sleeve with rounded corners.


    The Riceboy Sleeps remaster will be available in the US September 13th, and pre-orders are going on now. Signed copies of the album and merch packages are also available through the Sigur Rós webstore.

    News of the reissue comes a month after Jónsi & Alex completed a UK (and Paris) run of Riceboy Sleeps anniversary shows. The North American leg launches in October, and you can get tickets here.

    Earlier this year, Jónsi launched his Dark Morph project alongside Swedish composer and visual artist Carl Michael von Hausswolff with their self-titled debut.


    Riceboy Sleeps Artwork:

    Jonis & Alex Somers Riceboy Sleeps 10th anniversary reissue cover artworkRiceboy Sleeps Tracklist:
    01. Happiness
    02. Atlas Song
    03. Indian Summer
    04. Stokkseyri
    05. Boy 1904
    06. All the Big Trees
    07. Daníell in the Sea
    08. Howl
    09. Sleeping Giant