The Roots announce 20th anniversary reissue of Things Fall Apart

Reissues of Do You Want More?!!!??! and Illadelph Halflife are also in the works

The Roots Things Fall Apart 20th anniversary reissue
The Roots’ Things Fall Apart

The Roots are set to reissue a trio of records over the next three years, beginning with the 20th anniversary edition of their landmark fourth studio LP, Things Fall Apart. Re-releases of 1994’s Do You Want More?!!!??! and 1996’s Illadelph Halflife will follow.

Due out September 27th via Geffen/UMe/Urban Legends, the remastered Things Fall Apart will be available as a standard reissue and in a Collector’s Edition box set. Both versions will be a double-LP featuring a third bonus record with previously unreleased tracks, rarities, and extended live renditions, all curated by The Roots’ own Questlove. Included in the bonus material is a drum & bass take on “You Got Me” featuring Jill Scott, plus remixes of that track and “Act Too (Love of My Live)”.

Each package will also boast a booklet with essays from Black Thought and Questlove, liner notes from the latter, and rare pictures. The Collector’s package will be pressed on clear vinyl and presented in a die-cut slipcase with a quintet of interchangeable lithograph covers, all numbered in foil stamp.

(Buy: Tickets to The Roots’ Upcoming Shows)

As for the other reissues, Do You Want More?!!!??! is expected in 2020 with Illadelph Halflife coming a year later. Those dates coincide with each record’s 25th anniversary.

“We’re looking forward to going back to the vault to revisit our original recordings from the studio,” said The Roots said in a statement. “And we’re excited to celebrate these albums by really delivering something special for our fans.”

Pre-orders for the regular and deluxe editions the Things Fall Apart 20th anniversary reissue are available now. Find the full tracklist and artwork below.

Things Fall Apart Artwork:

The Roots Things Fall Apart 25th anniversary reissue cover

Things Fall Apart 20th Anniversary Reissue Tracklist:
Side A
01. Act Won (Things Fall Apart)
02. Table of Contents (Parts 1 & 2)
03. The Next Movement
04. Step Into the Realm
05. The Spark

Side B
01. Dynamite!
02. Without a Doubt
03. Ain’t Saying Nothin’ New
04. Double Trouble

Side C
01. Act Too (The Love of My Life)
02. 100% Dundee
03. Diedre vs. Dice
04. Adrenaline!
05. 3rd Acts: ? Vs. Scratch 2…Electric Boogaloo

Side D
01. You Got Me
02. Don’t See Us
03. The Return to Innocence Lost
04. Act Fore… The End?

Bonus Record
Side E
01. ‘Table of Contents #3″
02. What You Want
03. Quicksand Millennium
04. We Got You (Extended)
05. You Got Me (Drum & Bass w/ Jill Scott)

Side F
01. You Got Me (Me Tienes Remix)
02 Act Too (Love of My Life) (Remix)
03. Y’all Know Who
04. The Lesson – Part III (w/ Jaguar Wright)
05. New Years @ Jay Dee’s

Below, revisit The Roots’ Captain Kirk Douglas’ recent appearance on Kyle Meredith With….

Listen via Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Play | Stitcher | Radio Public