New mix of David Bowie’s Space Oddity included on upcoming Conversation Piece box set

The five-disc collection chronicles also unreleased demos and music from Bowie's short-lived band Feathers

David Bowie's Conversation Piece artwork
David Bowie’s Conversation Piece artwork

    David Bowie fans will soon have another archival box set to add to their collection. Entitled David Bowie Conversation Piece, the five-disc collection chronicles Bowie’s early works circa 1968 and 1969.

    The tracklist to Conversation Piece includes home demos, BBC radio sessions, and studio recordings with guitarist John ‘Hutch’ Hutchinson, as well as the music from Bowie’s short-lived band Feathers.

    Additionally, the collection celebrates the 50th anniversary of Bowie’s “Space Oddity” with a brand new mix of the musician’s sophomore album by longtime producer/collaborator Tony Visconti. 12 previously unreleased tracks/demos from the period are also included.


    Notably, the new mix of the album features the title track of the boxed set, “Conversation Piece”, restored to the album’s tracklist in its initially intended position before it was originally dropped due to time constraints of the vinyl.

    (Ranking: Every David Bowie Album from Worst to Best)

    In a statement, Visconti says, “It was so much fun to find hidden gems of musicianship with more time to mix the second time around, a guitar twiddle here, a trombone blast there, Marc Bolan’s voice in a group choir and more detail in general that we overlooked all those years ago when the label gave us a week at the most to mix this album. And in the details you will find 22 year old David Bowie, who would soon take the world by storm.”

    David Bowie Conversation Piece is due out on November 15th via Parlophone. The 2019 mix of Space Oddity will also be released separately on CD, standard digital, 96/24 digital, and vinyl. The various vinyl configurations will be randomly distributed worldwide with a mixture of hand-numbered labels: numbers 1 to 1969 on silver vinyl numbers and 1970 to 2019 on gold vinyl, with the remainder being black vinyl.


    In related news, Bowie’s iconic VH1 Storytellers live album will be released on vinyl for the first time on October 11th.

    David Bowie Conversation Piece Tracklist:


    01. April’s Tooth Of Gold *
    02. The Reverend Raymond Brown (Attends The Garden Fête On Thatchwick Green) *
    03. When I’m Five *
    04. Mother Grey
    05. In The Heat Of The Morning
    06. Goodbye 3d (Threepenny) Joe
    07. Love All Around
    08. London Bye, Ta-Ta
    09. Angel Angel Grubby Face (Version 1)
    10. Angel Angel Grubby Face (Version 2)
    11. Animal Farm”
    12. Space Oddity (Solo Demo Fragment)
    13. Space Oddity (Version 1) With John “Hutch” Hutchinson
    14. Space Oddity (Version 2) With John “Hutch” Hutchinson *
    15. Space Oddity (Version 3) With John “Hutch” Hutchinson
    16. Lover To The Dawn With John “Hutch” Hutchinson
    17. Ching-a-Ling With John “Hutch” Hutchinson
    18. An Occasional Dream With John “Hutch” Hutchinson
    19. Let Me Sleep Beside You With John “Hutch” Hutchinson
    20. Life Is A Circus With John “Hutch” Hutchinson
    21. Conversation Piece *
    22. Jerusalem *
    23. Hole In The Ground With George Underwood *

    CD 2 – The ‘Mercury’ Demos (With John “Hutch” Hutchinson)

    01. Space Oddity
    02. Janine
    03. An Occasional Dream
    04. Conversation Piece
    05. Ching-a-Ling
    06. I’m Not Quite (aka Letter To Hermione)
    07. Lover To The Dawn
    08. Love Song
    09. When I’m Five
    10. Life Is A Circus


    CD 3 – Conversation Pieces (Mono)

    01. In The Heat Of The Morning (Decca Mono Version)
    02. London Bye, Ta-Ta (Decca Alternative Version)

    BBC Top Gear Radio Session With The Tony Visconti Orchestra, Recorded 13th May, 1968

    03. In The Heat Of The Morning
    04. London Bye, Ta-Ta
    05. Karma Man
    06. When I’m Five
    07. Silly Boy Blue
    08. Ching-a-Ling
    09. Space Oddity (Morgan Studios Version – Alternative Take) With John “Hutch” Hutchinson *
    10. Space Oddity (U.K. Single Edit)
    11. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (Single B-side – Mono Mix)
    12. Janine (Mono Mix)
    13. Conversation Piece

    BBC Dave Lee Travis Show Radio Session, Recorded 20th October, 1969

    14. Let Me Sleep Beside You
    15. Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed
    16. Janine

    CD 4 – 1969 stereo mixes

    The Original David Bowie (aka Space Oddity) Album

    01. Space Oddity
    02. Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed (Inc. Don’t Sit Down)
    03. Letter To Hermione
    04. Cygnet Committee
    05. Janine
    06. An Occasional Dream
    07. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
    08. God Knows I’m Good
    09. Memory Of A Free Festival


    The Extras

    10. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (Single B-side Stereo Mix)
    11. Letter To Hermione (Early Mix) *
    12. Janine (Early Mix) *
    13. An Occasional Dream (Early Mix) *
    14. Ragazzo Solo, Ragazza Sola (Full Length Version)

    CD 5 – 2019 mixes (all previously unreleased)

    The Space Oddity Album

    01. Space Oddity
    02. Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed
    03. Letter To Hermione
    04. Cygnet Committee
    05. Janine
    06. An Occasional Dream
    07. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud
    08. Conversation Piece
    09. God Knows I’m Good
    10. Memory Of A Free Festival

    The Extras

    11. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud (Single Version)
    12. Ragazzo Solo, Ragazza Sola

    * = Unreleased tracks

Personalized Stories