Prince Estate announces deluxe reissue of 1999

Featuring 35 previously unreleased tracks, live performances, and liner notes

Prince - 1999 Deluxe Reissue, photo by Allen Beaulieu
Prince – 1999 Deluxe Reissue, photo by Allen Beaulieu

    Prepare to get delirious and party before the millennium again: The Prince Estate and Warner Bros. Records have announced an extensive reissue of The Purple One’s legendary 1982 fifth studio album, 1999. Due for release on November 29th, the album will be remastered for the very first time and include 35 previously unreleased tracks culled from the legendary vault.

    These tracks offer a true window into the late legend’s genius leading up to the blockbuster crossover double album. At the time, he had been working on material that would be passed on to his various protégés (see: Vanity 6 and The Time), in addition to stockpiling a number of tunes he planned to use in the future. These tell the full story and should add some context to 1999.

    Naturally, as these commemorative releases tend to be rolled out, there are three different versions. There’s the remastered album, which will be available on 2LP 180g Purple vinyl, CD, and all streaming platforms, but then there’s the two Deluxe editions. The standard Deluxe includes the additional tracks over 2 CDs or four LPS, but the Super Deluxe Edition? Hold my beer.

    (Read: The Top 10 Definitively Prince Songs)


    The Super Deluxe Edition delivers all the audio Prince officially released in and around 1982, 23 previously unissued studio tracks recorded between November 1981 and January 1983, and a complete live performance of the 1999 tour recorded in Detroit, MI on November 30th, 1982. What’s more, both sets include a DVD of his Houston, TX show on December 29th, 1982.

    That’s not all, though. The set will also include Prince’s previously unseen handwritten lyrics for several songs from the era, including “Little Red Corvette”, alongside rare photography from Prince’s early ‘80s photographer, Allen Beaulieu. Rolling Stone critic David Fricke, Guns N’ Roses bassist Duff McKagan, radio host Andrea Swensson, and Prince scholar Duane Tudahl penned new liner notes.

    Consult the cover artwork and full tracklist below. Update: Also check out a previously unreleased clip of Prince performing “1999” live in Houston in 1982.


    In related news, October 29th will bring the release of Prince’s memoir, The Beautiful Ones.

    1999 Reissue Artwork:

    Prince 1999 Album Artwork

    1999 Reissue Tracklist:

    Disc 1 – 1999 Remastered Album:
    01. 1999
    02. Little Red Corvette
    03. Delirious
    04. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
    05. D.M.S.R.
    06. Automatic
    07. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
    08. Free
    09. Lady Cab Driver
    10. All The Critics Love U In New York
    11. International Lover

    Disc 2 – Promo Mixes & B-Sides:
    01. 1999 (7″ stereo edit)
    02. 1999 (7″ mono promo-only edit)
    03. Free (promo-only edit)
    04. How Come You Don’t Call Me Anymore (“1999″ b-side)
    05. Little Red Corvette (7″ edit)
    06. All The Critics Love U In New York (7” edit)
    07. Lady Cab Driver (7″ edit)
    08. Little Red Corvette (Dance Remix promo-only edit)
    09. Little Red Corvette (Special Dance Mix)
    10. Delirious (7” edit)
    11. Horny Toad (“Delirious” b-side)
    12. Automatic (7″ edit)
    13. Automatic (video version)
    14. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (7″ edit)
    15. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (7″ mono promo-only edit)
    16. Irresistible Bitch (“Let’s Pretend We’re Married” b-side)
    17. Let’s Pretend We’re Married (video version)
    18. D.M.S.R. (edit)

    Disc 3 – Vault, Part 1:
    01. Feel U Up
    02. Irresistible Bitch
    03. Money Don’t Grow On Trees
    04. Vagina
    05. Rearrange
    06. Bold Generation
    07. Colleen
    08. International Lover (Take 1, live in studio)
    09. Turn It Up
    10. You’re All I Want
    11. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute) (Original Version)
    12. If It’ll Make U Happy
    13. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore? (Take 2, live in studio)


    Disc 4 – Vault, Part 2:
    1 Possessed (1982 version)
    2 Delirious (full length)
    3 Purple Music
    4 Yah, You Know
    5 Moonbeam Levels **
    6 No Call U
    7 Can’t Stop This Feeling I Got
    8 Do Yourself A Favor
    9 Don’t Let Him Fool Ya
    10 Teacher, Teacher
    11 Lady Cab Driver / I Wanna Be Your Lover / Head / Little Red Corvette (tour demo)

    ** released on the 2016 compilation, 4Ever

    Disc 5 – Live In Detroit – November 30, 1982 (Midnight Show)
    01. Controversy
    02. Let’s Work
    03. Little Red Corvette
    04. Do Me, Baby
    05. Head
    06. Uptown
    07. Interlude
    08. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
    09. Automatic
    10. International Lover
    11. 1999
    12. D.M.S.R.

    DVD: Live In Houston – December 29, 1982:
    01. Controversy
    02. Let’s Work
    03. Do Me, Baby
    04. D.M.S.R.
    05. Interlude – piano improvisation (contains elements of “With You”)
    06. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
    07. Lady Cab Driver
    08. Automatic
    09. International Lover
    10. 1999
    11. Head (contains elements of “Sexuality”)