(Sandy) Alex G releases new album House of Sugar: Stream

The ninth full-length from the indie singer-songwriter

stream House of Sugar (Sandy) Alex G, photo by Tonje Thilesen
(Sandy) Alex G, photo by Tonje Thilesen

    (Sandy) Alex G has returned today with his new album, House of Sugar. Stream the whole thing below via Apple Music and Spotify.

    Marking the indie singer-songwriter aka Alex Giannascoli’s ninth full-length overall, House of Sugar follows 2017’s critically acclaimed Rocket. A marked artistic evolution for the prolific musician, the record was recorded alongside mixer/producer Jacob Portrait. The eclectic 13-track collection features previously revealed singles “Southern Sky”, “Greta”, and “Hope”, as well as a live version of the title track.

    Speaking with Paste about his composition process while writing House of Sugar, Giannascoli said,

    “My intention is to make something that you can listen to a hundred times. I try and construct the music in a way that stuff that doesn’t make sense on the first listen will make sense on like the fifth listen. And then there’s other stuff that will make more sense that you didn’t hear before on the next listen. I think when you first listen to it, there probably is a lot of awkwardness, but it’s just because of the music that I liked growing up I guess. I could listen to it over and over.”


    Listen to the whole thing below. You can also catch (Sandy) Alex G supporting House of Sugar on a lengthy tour that stretches through winter. Get tickets here.

    House of Sugar Artwork:

    "Gretel" House of Sugar (Sandy) Alex G

    House of Sugar Tracklist:
    01. Walk Away
    02. Hope
    03. Southern Sky
    04. Gretel
    05. Taking
    06. Near
    07. Project 2
    08. Bad Man
    09. Sugar
    10. In My Arms
    11. Cow
    12. Crime
    13. SugarHouse (Live)

Personalized Stories

Around The Web