King Princess sets release date for Cheap Queen, shares “Ain’t Together”: Stream

New single features Father John Misty on drums

King Princess, photo by Ben Kaye

    Rising pop singer King Princess announced her highly anticipated debut, Cheap Queenearlier in the summer. Now, she’s finally unveiled the official release date via Zelig/Columbia Records: October 25th. The good news comes alongside the latest single off the album, “Ain’t Together”.

    On tracks like last year’s “1950” (one of our favorite songs of 2018) and recent single “Prophet”, the 20-year-old Brooklynite has captured nuances and complexities beyond her years. She returns to these messy emotions on “Ain’t Together”. With upbeat guitars, peppy “doo-doos” from a choir, and patient drumming provided by Father John Misty, the music contrasts with the tension of the lyrics. “We said I love you, but we ain’t together,” King Princess sings with a mix of bitterness and longing.

    Take a listen to “Ain’t Together” below.

    (Read: 10 Must-See LGBTQ+ Musicians Currently on Tour)


    In addition to “Ain’t Together”, Cheap Queen has been previewed with “Prophet” and the title track. King Princess also recently appeared on Zelig head Mark Ronson’s Late Night Feelings and teamed with Fiona Apple to rework “I Know”. This fall, she’s headlining a North American tour to support her debut LP. Pick up your tickets here.

    Cheap Queen Artwork:

    King Princess New Song Ain't Together New Album Cheap Queen StreamCheap Queen Tracklist:
    01. Tough On Myself
    02. Useless Phrases
    03. Cheap Queen
    04. Ain’t Together
    05. Do You Wanna See Me Crying
    06. Homegirl
    07. Prophet
    08. Isabels Moment (feat. Tobias Jesso Jr.)
    09. Trust Nobody
    10. Watching My Phone
    11. You Destroyed My Heart
    12. Hit the Back
    13. If You Think It’s Love

Personalized Stories

Around The Web