Tove Lo drops new album Sunshine Kitty: Stream

Kylie Minogue, Alma, and Jax Jones feature on the Swedish star's fourth LP

stream sunshine kitty tove lo album new
Tove Lo, photo via Facebook

    Tove Lo returns today with her new album, Sunshine Kitty. It’s available to stream in its entirety below via Apple Music or Spotify.

    The follow-up to 2017’s Blue Lips serves as the Swedish artist’s fourth overall. There are 15 tracks in total, including the initial singles “Bad as the Boys” with assistance from Finland’s Alma and “Really Don’t Like U” featuring the one and only Kylie Minogue.

    (Read: Flow Festival 2019 Review: The Cure, Solange, and Tove Lo Party for the Planet)

    Tove Lo often details situations of struggle or misfortune in her songs, or in the case of her Minogue collaboration, the drama surrounding a past relationship. In an interview with The Independent, Tove Lo talked about why she feels drawn to this type of subject matter,

    “If a song is just 100 per cent ‘everything is perfect’, I can’t relate to it, and I can’t feel it,” Tove Lo explains. “It might be fun and cool but it doesn’t touch me or resonate with me in any way. I think it’s because if you’re in a really amazing situation where everything is great, there’s always that little hint of fear that it’s all gonna go away. Nothing is static when it comes to emotions.”


    The Grammy-nominated pop star also said her material is partially inspired by Hole singer Courtney Love. “It was sadness and darkness written with humour and with sass,” said of Love’s music. Tove Lo, who’s written hits for the likes of Lorde and Ellie Goulding, continued, “I think that really resonated with me, and the honesty about darkness in shiny, plastic situations. Growing up in quite a posh area, I would feel that so much. Everything is clean and perfect, and everyone is looking clean and perfect, but it’s still a miserable vibe here.”

    In support of Sunshine Kitty, Tove Lo recently announced a 2020 tour with Alma and Broods. Snag your tickets here.

    Sunshine Kitty Artwork:


    Sunshine Kitty Tracklist:
    01. Gritty Pretty (intro)
    02. Glad He’s Gone
    03. Bad as the Boys (feat. ALMA)
    04. Sweettalk my Heart
    05. Stay Over
    06. Are U gonna tell her? (feat. MC Zaac)
    07. Jacques (feat. Jax Jones)
    08. Mateo
    09. Come Undone
    10. Equally Lost (feat. Doja Cat)
    11. Really don’t like u (feat. Kylie Minogue)
    12. Shifted
    13. Mistaken
    14. Anywhere u go
    15. Sunshine Kitty (outro)