Van Morrison announces new album Three Chords and the Truth, shares “Dark Night of the Soul”: Stream

Iconic singer-songwriter's 41st full-length is his sixth in just four years

Van Morrison Three Chords and the Truth Dark Night of the Soul New Album Song Stream
Van Morrison, photo by Philip Cosores

    Sir Van Morrison has announced a new album, Three Chords and the Truth, and shared its lead single, “Dark Night of the Soul”.

    Due out October 25th via Exile/Caroline International, the new LP marks Morrison’s 41st record overall and sixth in just the last four years. It’s follows 2018’s The Prophet Speak and You’re Driving Me Crazy, his collaborative effort with jazz musician Joey DeFrancesco.

    Morrison produced and wrote all the tracks himself, save for “If We Wait for Mountains”, which was co-written with Don Black. Guitarist Jay Berliner, who played on the classic Astral Weeks, contributed to the sessions, while The Righteous Brothers’ Bill Medley appears on the duet “Fame Will Eat the Soul”.


    “Dark Night of the Soul” serves as a first listen to the 14-track collection. The song is vintage Morrison, mid-tempo and as graceful as an evening breeze. Smooth instrumentation provides a velveteen bedding for Morrison’s ageless vocals, which he really unleashes on the marathon of runs during the closing third.

    Take a listen below, and pre-order Three Chords and the Truth at Morrison’s website. You can also catch him on a stretch of fall dates as well as his upcoming residencies in Las Vegas and London. The itinerary is below, and tickets can be found here.


    Three Chords and the Truth Artwork:

    Van Morrison Three Chords and the TruthThree Chords and the Truth Tracklist:
    01. March Winds in February
    02. Fame Will Eat the Soul
    03. Dark Night of the Soul
    04. In Search of Grace
    05. Nobody in Charge
    06. You Don’t Understand
    07. Read Between the Lines
    08. Does Love Conquer All?
    09. Early Days
    10. If We Wait for Mountains
    11. Up on Broadway
    12. Three Chords and the Truth
    13. Bags Under My Eyes
    14. Days Gone By

    Van Morrison 2019-2020 Tour Dates:
    10/02 – Reno, NV @ Grand Sierra Resort
    10/04 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theatre,
    10/05 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Santa Barbara Bowl
    10/06 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl
    10/08 – Chula Vista, CA @ North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre
    10/21 – Bournemouth, UK @ International Centre
    10/23 – Cardiff, UK @ St David’s Hall
    10/27 – Oxford, UK @ New Theatre
    10/28 – Nottingham, UK @ Royal Concert Hall
    12/02 – Brighton, UK @ Dome
    12/03 – Brighton, UK @ Dome
    12/31 – Belfast, UK @ Stormont Hotel
    01/01 – Belfast, UK @ Stormont Hotel
    01/02 – Belfast, UK @ Stormont Hotel
    01/31 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Colosseum at Caesars Palace
    02/01 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Colosseum at Caesars Palace,
    02/05 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Colosseum at Caesars Palace,
    02/07 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Colosseum at Caesars Palace,
    02/08 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Colosseum at Caesars Palace,
    03/20 – London, UK @ The Palladium
    03/21 – London, UK @ The Palladium
    03/22 – London, UK @ The Palladium
    03/24 – London, UK @ The Palladium
    03/25 – London, UK @ The Palladium


Personalized Stories