Pet Shop Boys announce new album Hotspot, share “Burning the heather”: Stream

Ten-track effort comes ahead of their "Greatest Hits Live" tour

Pet Shop Boys, photo by Phil Fisk

    London duo Pet Shop Boys are gearing up to release their first album in four years. Dubbed Hotspot, it’s due out January 24th through x2/Kobalt Records.

    The follow-up to 2016’s Super was mostly written and recorded in both Germany and California. Its 10 tracks, including previous single “Dreamland” featuring Years & Years, were mixed again by Grammy-winner Stuart Price (New Order, The Killers), who also had a hand in the two-piece’s two previous full-lengths.

    (Read: Top 50 Albums of 1987)

    “We’ve written much of our music over the last ten years in Berlin and it was an exciting experience to work on this album in the legendary Hansa studios there and add a new dimension to our sound,” Pet Shop Boys’ Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe said in a statement.


    As the latest teaser of Hotspot, the British synthpop outfit is sharing “Burning the heather”, a track that boasts additional guitar from former Suede member Bernard Butler. Check that out below via its lyric video.

    Pre-orders for Hotspot have begun. The new album will be supported with “Dreamworld: The Greatest Hits Live” Tour that goes down Spring 2020. Tickets can be purchased here.

    Hotspot Artwork:

    Pet shop Boys hotspot album artwork cover

    Hotspot Tracklist:
    01. Will-o-the-wisp
    02. You are the one
    03. Happy people
    04. Dreamland (feat. Years & Years)
    05. Hoping for a miracle
    06. I don’t wanna
    07. Monkey business
    08. Only the dark
    09. Burning the heather
    10. Wedding in Berlin