Kanye West unveils new Sunday Service album Jesus Is Born: Stream

The gospel album features original hymns alongside reworkings of Kanye's own music

kanye west sued christian opera workers $1 million Nebuchadnezzar
Kanye West

    Merry Christmas! In celebration, Kanye West has released Jesus Is Born, the debut album from his Sunday Service gospel choir. Stream it below via Apple Music or Spotify.

    The 19-track LP serves as the follow-up Kanye’s ninth solo album, Jesus Is King, which was released back in October. But whereas Kanye took the lead on Jesus Is King, Jesus Is Born consists entirely of arrangements performed by Sunday Service. With Kanye serving as the album’s executive producer, Sunday Service sings a mixture of original gospel hymns as well as reworkings of Kanye’s own music, including “Ultralight Beam” and “Father Stretch”. Take a listen below.

    In a recent interview with Zane Lowe, West explained his new approach to making music, stating “I am not here for anyone’s entertainment.” He continued, “Now that I’m in service to Christ, my job is to spread the gospel, to let people know what Jesus has done for me.”


    It’s a bit of a surprise to see this album arrive so soon, as West has been busy with other endeavors like his operas Nebuchadnezzar and Mary. He’s also kept a rigorous schedule for Sunday Service, with stops at a Houston jail and Joel Olsteen’s Lakewood Church. He and the televangelist will be hitting the road together in the new year, then who knows what’s next–  Fox & Friends is endorsing him as a presidential candidate for 2024 (you read that right). The only thing that can slow him down might be the recent re-opening of an ongoing legal battle with EMI, but that likely can’t stop Ye, as he’s already supposedly working on a sequel to Jesus Is King with Dr. Dre.

    (Read: Top 25 Hip-Hop and R&B Songs of the 2010s)

    Jesus Is Born Artwork:

    Kanye Sunday Service album

    Jesus Is Born Tracklist: 
    01. Count Your Blessings
    02. Excellent
    03. Revelations 19:1
    04. Rain
    05. Balm in Gilead
    06. Father Stretch
    07. Follow Me
    08. Ultralight Beam
    09. Lift Up Your Voices
    10. More Than Anything
    11. Weak
    12. That’s How the Good Lord Works
    13. Sunshine
    14. Back to Life
    15. Souls Anchored
    16. Sweet Grace
    17. Paradise
    18. Satan, We’re Gonna Tear Your Kingdom Down
    19. Total Praise