The National give digital release to Juicy Sonic Magic live album: Stream

The Record Store Day release was recorded over two sold-out nights at Berkeley's Greek Theatre

The National Juicy Sonic Magic live album record store day black friday 2019
The National, photo by Ben Kaye

    The National have released their latest live album, Juicy Sonic Magic, digitally online. Stream it below via Apple Music or Spotify.

    Recording took place in the fall of 2018 over two sold-out nights at Berkeley’s Greek Theatre, marking the conclusion of the band’s touring behind their excellent 2017 studio LP Sleep Well Beast. The 45-track effort was initially released last month as a special triple-cassette boxset for Record Store Day: Black Friday. Now, 4AD has brought the full thing to online streaming platforms.

    Erik Flannigan produced and engineered the live album, utilizing The Mike Millard Method. More specifically, Flannigan utilized the same analog equipment used by concert taper “folk hero” Millard to record shows in the ’70s and ’80s. Juicy Sonic Magic comes accompanied by a short documentary from director David DuBois that digs deeper into the Millard Method and what early taping was like.

    (Read: Ranking Every Album by The National from Worst to Best


    In an interview with Relix, The National frontman Matt Berninger spoke about Millard’s style, and how “there’s something about Mike’s recordings that just really feel like you’re in the sync of it a little bit more.”

    He continued,

    “It feels like the the room is right up to your neck, you’re kind of soaking a little deeper inside the space. It sounds like you’re in something, either in an arena or an amphitheater or a club. Some things just have a sense to them, and it’s probably audio and it’s hard to define what it is. Even the tapes themselves, the cassettes, in his handwriting, has a sense to it, has some sort of more cosmic presence. The detail he took to do all that stuff creates a greater whole than just the one or the two.”

    (Read: Top 50 Songs of 2019)

    Stream The National’s Juicy Sonic Magic and watch the aforementioned documentary below. Also keep an eye out for the band member’s side projects, like Bryce Dessner’s soundtrack for the biographical drama The Two Popes, and Berninger’s forthcoming solo debut, Serpentine Prison. The band also has multiple upcoming 2020 tour dates, including a big Homecoming show in Cincinnati with Patti Smith, Sylvan Esso, and more. Grab all those tickets here.


    Juicy Sonic Magic Artwork: 

    Juicy Sonic Magic The National Artwork

    Juicy Sonic Magic Tracklist:
    NIGHT 1 – Sept. 24th 2018
    01. Nobody Else Will Be There
    02. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
    03. Walk It Back
    04. Guilty Party
    05. Don’t Swallow the Cap
    06. Bloodbuzz Ohio
    07. I Need My Girl
    08. Green Gloves
    09. Brainy
    10. Slow Show
    11. All the Wine
    12. I’ll Still Destroy You
    13. Dark Side of the Gym
    14. Day I Die
    15. Carin at the Liquor Store
    16. Graceless
    17. Rylan
    18. Fake Empire

    19. Light Years
    20. Mr. November
    21. Terrible Love
    22. Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks

    NIGHT 2 – Sept. 25th 2018
    01. Light Years
    02. The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness
    03. Walk It Back
    04. Guilty Party
    05. I Should Live in Salt
    06. Don’t Swallow the Cap
    07. Afraid of Everyone
    08. I Need My Girl
    09. This Is the Last Time
    10. Wasp Nest
    11. Born to Beg
    12. Sorrow
    13. Apartment Story
    14. Pink Rabbits
    15. England
    16. Day I Die
    17. Rylan
    18. Fake Empire
    19. About Today

    20. Lemonworld
    21. Mr. November
    22. Terrible Love
    23. Vanderlyle Crybaby Geeks