Mobb Deep’s The Infamous Gets 25th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue: Stream

Plus, the latest season of The Opus breaks down the classic hip-hop album

Mobb Deep

    Havoc, the surviving member of hip-hop duo Mobb Deep, has teamed with Sony Certified to release a 25th anniversary reissue of the group’s classic album The InfamousStream it now with Apple Music or Spotify.

    Mobb Deep was formed in 1991, when the high schoolers Albert Johnson and Kejuan Muchita happened to meet at a knife fight. After christening themselves Prodigy and Havoc respectively, Mobb Deep used the brutality that surrounded them to push East Coast rap in a more hardcore direction.The Infamous was their second album as well as their mainstream breakthrough. Produced by Q-Tip, the album didn’t glorify violence, but instead put listeners in the headspace of both perpetrators and victims. The new 25th anniversary comes stocked with several bonus tracks, including, “Shook One, Pt. I (Original Version)” and Infamous Sessions Mixes of “Lifestyles of the Infamous” and “The Money (Version 2)”. A vinyl edition of the 25th anniversary reissue is planned for later this year.

    The Infamous is also the subject of The Opus’ latest season, which debuted this week. Take a listen to the first episode below, and subscribe to hear future installments.


    The Infamous 25th Anniversary Expanded Edition Artwork:

    mobb deep - the infamous

    The Infamous 25th Anniversary Expanded Edition Tracklist:
    01. The Start of Your Ending (41st Side)
    02. The Infamous Prelude
    03. Survival of the Fittest
    04. Eye for a Eye (Your Beef Is Mines) (feat. Nas and Raekwon)
    05. Just Step Prelude
    06. Give Up the Goods (Just Step) (feat. Big Noyd)
    07. Temperature’s Rising (feat. Crystal Johnson)
    08. Up North Trip
    09. Trife Life
    10. Q.U. – Hectic
    11. Right Back at You (feat. Ghostface Killah, Raekwon and Big Noyd)
    12. The Grave Prelude
    13. Cradle to the Grave
    14. Drink Away the Pain (Situations) (feat. Q-Tip)
    15. Shook Ones, Part II
    16. Party Over (feat. Big Noyd)
    17. Shook Ones, Pt. I — Original Version
    18. The Money (Version 2) — Infamous Sessions Mix
    19. Lifestyles of the Infamous — Infamous Sessions Mix
    20. Shook Ones, Pt. I — Instrumental
    21. Shook Ones, Pt. 2 — Instrumental


Around The Web