!!! (Chk Chk Chk) Announce New EP Certified Heavy Kats, Share “Do the Dial Tone”: Stream

The project is out July 31st via Warp Records

chk chk chk announce certified heavy kats
!!! (Chk Chk Chk), photo by Alvaro Guzman

    Onomatopoeia heads rejoice, !!! (aka Chk Chk Chk) are releasing new music. The New York dance-punk group are putting out an EP called Certified Heavy Kats on July 31st, and today they’ve shared its lead single, “Do the Dial Tone”.

    According to a press release, the goal of the project was to leap between many different styles of dance music. Across seven tracks, the band shows a love for UK garage, house, disco, funk, and more abstract iterations of club music. In addition to vocals from venerable frontman Nic Offer, the project also features singing from co-vocalist Meah Pace, plus guest contributions from Liars frontman Angus Andrew and Maria Uzor of UK dance duo Sink Ya Teeth.

    In a statement, Offer explained that Certified Heavy Kats was a concerted effort to explore “the outer edges of what we do.” “We try a lot of different things with the hopes of coming up with something fresh by getting it wrong,” he said. “How wrong did we get it this time?”


    Lead single “Do the Dial Tone” is a total garage banger featuring psychedelically layered vocals, chirping synths, and a groove that was designed to cut rugs to. Boogie along while you watch the Cheng-Hsu Chung-directed video below.

    The project follows the I’m Sick of This / So We Can Fuck 7-inch they put out in May, and their 2019 full-length WallopCertified Heavy Kats is out July 31st via Warp Records, and pre-orders are available now.

    Certified Heavy Kats Artwork:

    !!! certified heavy katz ep arwork

    Certified Heavy Kats Tracklist:
    01. Do the Dial Tone
    02. Maybe You Can’t Make It
    03. Tighten the Grip
    04. Let It Fall
    05. Wonderful Life
    06. Take It Easy
    07. Walk It Off