The Cranberries Announce Expanded Reissue of No Need to Argue

Featuring 19 previously unreleased tracks

The Cranberries No Need to Argue Reissue Expaneded
The Cranberries

    Irish alternative band The Cranberries have announced a deluxe reissue of their 1994 album No Need to Argue. The group’s best-selling LP will be available in expanded digital and physical editions on September 18th.

    The Cranberries first achieved commercial success with their 1993 debut Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? But the sophomore follow-up No Need to Argue vaulted them into another stratosphere, spurred on by the smash protest song “Zombie”. A response to the IRA’s 1993 bombing of Warrington, UK, “Zombie” has endured as The Cranberries most beloved single. Vevo named it one of the ten most popular rock videos of the 2010s, and in April of this year, it became the first song by an Irish band to surpass one billion views on YouTube.

    Lead singer Dolores O’Riordan unfortunately passed away in 2018, before she could celebrate the 25th anniversary of No Need to Argue and the latest records broken by “Zombie”. But this new deluxe reissue seeks to capture her spirit as a songwriter, activist, and lover of Ireland. The expanded edition includes remastered versions of the album’s 13 original tracks, as well as B-sides and a slew of extras. The double-CD and digital versions come with the hard-to-find MTV Unplugged rendition of “Yesterday’s Gone” and a wide variety of demos, including the rarity “Serious” which had only been available as a bootleg. It also doubles as a live album, with eight performances taken from two shows at Liverpool Royal Court in 1994 and the National Stadium, Milton Keynes in 1995.


    As for the double vinyl edition, it includes “Yesterday’s Gone” from the Unplugged set, as well as the B-sides “Away”, “So Cold in Ireland”, and “I Don’t Need”, and a cover of The Carpenters’ “(They Long to Be) Close to You.” Regardless of what form you choose for your physical copy, it will come stocked with a 5,000 word essay on the history of the album written by Eoin Devereux, the band’s archivist.

    The reissue drops September 18th, and you can check out the full tracklist below.

    Last year, The Cranberries released their lovely final album with O’Riordan, In the End. 

    No Need to Argue Artwork:

    No Need to Argue 2CD and Digital Tracklist:

    CD 1: 2020 Remaster + Extras

    01. Ode To My Family
    02. I Can’t Be With You
    03. Twenty One
    04. Zombie
    05. Empty
    06. Everything I Said
    07. The Icicle Melts
    08. Disappointment
    09. Ridiculous Thoughts
    10. Dreaming My Dreams
    11. Yeats’ Grave
    12. Daffodil Lament
    13. No Need To Argue
    14. Yesterday’s Gone (MTV Unplugged)
    15. Away
    16. I Don’t Need
    17. So Cold In Ireland
    18. (They Long To Be) Close To You
    19. Zombie (A Camel’s Hump Remix by The Orb)


    CD 2: Demos + Live Tracks:

    01. Song To My Family
    02. So Cold In Ireland
    03. Empty
    04. Ridiculous Thoughts
    05. Everything I Said
    06. Yeats’ Grave
    07. Serious
    08. Away
    09. I Don’t Need
    10. Dreaming My Dreams (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
    11. Daffodil Lament (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
    12. The Icicle Melts (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
    13. No Need To Argue (Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
    14. Empty Live at Liverpool Royal Court)
    15. I Can’t Be With You (Live at National Stadium, Milton Keynes)
    16. Ridiculous Thoughts (Live at National Stadium, Milton Keynes)
    17. Zombie (Live at National Stadium, Milton Keynes)

    No Need to Argue 2LP Tracklist:

    Side A

    01. Ode to My Family
    02. I Can’t Be with You
    03. Twenty One
    04. Zombie 

    Side B

    01. Empty
    02. Everything I Said
    03. The Icicle Melts
    04. Disappointment
    05. Ridiculous Thoughts

    Side C

    01. Dreaming My Dreams
    02. Yeats’ Grave
    03. Daffodil Lament
    04. No Need to Argue

    Side D – Bonus Tracks

    01. Yesterday’s Gone (MTV Unplugged)
    02. Away
    03. I Don’t Need
    04. So Cold in Ireland
    05. (They Long to Be) Close to You