King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard Share New Album Butterfly 3000: Stream

The Australian band's 18th full-length to date

king gizzard and the lizard wizard butterfly 3000 new album stream
King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard, photo by Jason Galea

    Aussie psych-rockers King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard have released their latest album, Butterfly 3000. Stream it via Bandcamp below.

    A press release previously described King Gizzard’s latest effort as “a suite of ten songs that all began life as arpeggiated loops composed on modular synthesisers, before being fashioned into addictive, optimistic and utterly seductive dream-pop by the six-piece.”

    Created by Jason Galea, the album’s artwork is a “cross-eyed autostereogram.” This means fans have to look at the visual illusion cross-eyed to see it.


    In an interview with Stereogum, King Gizzard’s Stu Mackenzie said the album was influenced by the ambient interludes created for the band’s 2020 live album, Chunky Shrapnel. “We started making these arpeggiated loops, which are littered throughout the film,” he explained. “We were drawn to the off-kilter amounts of notes — these weird time signatures coming from the synthesizer, rather than drums. We were being led by the capabilities of the technology, so I just thought, ‘I’m going to have an open mind and see where this path leads.'”

    Butterfly 3000 follows King Gizzard’s February release, L.W. That full-length served as a companion album to K.G., which arrived just three months earlier in November 2020.

    Butterfly 3000 Artwork:

    king gizzard and the lizard wizard butterfly 3000 new album artwork

    Butterfly 3000 Artwork:
    01. Yours
    02. Shanghai
    03. Dreams
    04. Blue Morpho
    05. Interior People
    06. Catching Smoke
    07. 2.02 Killer Year
    08. Black Hot Soup
    09. Ya Love
    10. Butterfly 3000


Personalized Stories

Around The Web