Neil Young and Crazy Horse Announce New Album Barn

Hear the lead single, "Song of the Seasons"

Neil Young, photo by Daryl Hannah

    Neil Young and Crazy Horse have announced the new album Barn. It’s out December 10th on Reprise, and subscribers to the Neil Young Archive can hear a preview with the lead single “Song of the Seasons.” Update: You can also stream “Song of the Seasons” below.

    Young last collaborated with Crazy Horse on 2019’s Coloradoand recording on the follow-up seems to have begun over the summer of 2021. In a June post on the NYA, Young wrote that, “Crazy Horse recording is under way. The Horse is back in the barn now, shaking off the rust.”  He added that the world has changed a lot over the last few years, and his songwriting will reflect that. “These are new times, with new songs and feelings after what our world has been through and continues to face,” he wrote. “This music we are making for our souls. It’s like fresh water on a desert. Life is going on.”

    “Song of the Season” is the first track on Barn, and according to Young, “It’s the oldest song on the record, written about this time last year.” NYA subscribers can listen to it over at the Archive website.


    The 10-track collection was produced by Neil Young and Niko Bolas, with mastering provided by Chris Bellman. Check out the artwork and tracklist below.

    Young recently announced a new bootleg series, and the first entry, Carnegie Hall 1970 (Live) dropped October 1st. In August he withdrew from Farm Aid 2021, later clarifying that he believes COVID-era concerts “are super-spreader events.” In other words, don’t except a Barn tour any time soon.

    Barn Artwork:

    Neil Young Crazy Horse Barn

    Barn Tracklist:
    01. Song of the Seasons
    02. Heading West
    03. Change Ain’t Never Gonna
    04. Canerican
    05. Shape of You
    06. They Might Be Lost
    07. Human Race
    08. Tumblin’ thru the Years
    09. Welcome Back
    10. Don’t Forget Love