Rina Sawayama Announces New Album Hold the Girl

Follow-up to SAWAYAMA drops in September

Rina Sawayama Hold the Girl new album release date
Rina Sawayama, photo via Facebook

    Rina Sawayama has announced her new album, Hold the Girl, out September 2nd, 2022.

    The Japanese-British artist didn’t reveal much else in the way of details except for a brief, abstract teaser trailer. Watch it below, and scroll onwards for the album’s artwork and tracklist.

    Update: Check out the album’s lead single, “This Hell.”

    Hold the Girl marks the follow-up to SAWAYAMA, one of the best albums of 2020. The critically acclaimed record made such an impact that the Mercury Prize and BRIT Awards both changed their nationality requirements to allow artists like Sawayama — who has lived in the UK since she was a toddler — to be eligible.

    Since then, our former Artist of the Month has been announced to be making her feature film acting debut in John Wick: Chapter 4, covered “Enter Sandman” for Metallica’s covers LP, and featured on Lady Gaga’s Dawn of Chromatica remix album. More recently, she teamed with Charli XCX on “Beg for You” and appeared on Pabllo Vittar’s “Follow Me.”


    Sawayama’s announcement comes after the singer-songwriter recently wrapped up her “Dynasty” tour. Next up, she will perform on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon this Thursday, May 19th. It’s likely Sawayama will debut new music then and reveal more about Hold the Girl.


    Hold the Girl Artwork:

    rina sawayama hold the girl artwork

    Hold the Girl Tracklist:
    01. Minor Feelings
    02. Hold the Girl
    03. This Hell
    04. Catch Me in the Air
    05. Forgiveness
    06. Holy (Til You Let Me Go)
    07. Your Age
    08. Imagining
    09. Frankenstein
    10. Hurricanes
    11. Send My Love to John
    12. Phantom
    13. To Be Alive

Personalized Stories

Around The Web