U2 Reimagine 40 of Their Songs on New Album Songs of Surrender [UPDATED]

Due out on St. Patrick's Day

U2 to release new album Songs of Surrender
U2, photo courtesy of band

    On St. Patrick’s Day, U2 will unveil their new album Songs of Surrender. Taking a page from Taylor Swift, the forthcoming collection sees the band reimagine 40 songs from their back catalog.

    Update: Check out the album’s tracklist and artwork, as well as first single “Pride (In The Name Of Love),” below.

    U2’s The Edge previewed the project in a handwritten note sent to fans. “The fact is that most of our work was written and recorded when we were a bunch of very young men. Those songs mean something quite different to us now,” The Edge wrote. “Some have grown with us. Some we have outgrown. But we have not lost sight of what propelled us to write those songs in the first place. The essence of those songs is still in us, but how to reconnect with that essence when we have moved on, and grown so much?


    “Music allows you to time travel and so we started to imagine what it would be like to bring these songs back with us to the present day and give them the benefit or otherwise, of a 21st century re-imagining,” The Edge added. “What started as an experiment quickly became a personal obsession as so many early U2 songs yielded to a new interpretation. Intimacy replaced post-punk urgency. New keys. New chords. New tempos and new lyrics arrived. It turns out that great song is kind of indestructible. Once we surrendered our reverence for the original version each song started to open up to a new authentic voice of this time, of the people we are, and particularly the singer Bono has become.”

    Separately, Bono discussed the project in the afterword of his recent memoir, Surrender: 40 Songs, One Story. “During lockdown, we were able to reimagine 40 U2 tracks for the Songs of Surrender collection, which gave me a chance to live inside those songs again as I wrote this memoir. It also meant I could deal with something that’s been nagging me for some time. The lyrics on a few songs that I’ve always felt were never quite written. They are now. (I think.)”

    As a preview, U2’s new version of “Beautiful Day” soundtracks the below trailer for Songs of Surrender.


    U2 is expected to open Las Vegas’ MSG Sphere in 2023. Additionally, Bono will stage a residency at New York’s Beacon Theatre for 11 evenings of “words, music and some mischief…” (get tickets here).

    Songs of Surrender Artwork:

    U2's artwork for Song of the Surrender

    Songs of Surrender Tracklist:
    Side 1 – The Edge
    01. One
    02. Where The Streets Have No Name
    03. Stories For Boys
    04. 11 O’Clock Tick Tock
    05. Out Of Control
    06. Beautiful Day
    07. Bad
    08. Every Breaking Wave
    09. Walk On (Ukraine)
    10. Pride (In The Name Of Love)


    Side 2 – Larry
    01. Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses
    02. Get Out Of Your Own Way
    03. Stuck In A Moment You Can’t Get Out Of
    04. Red Hill Mining Town
    05. Ordinary Love
    06. Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own
    07. Invisible
    08. Dirty Day
    09. The Miracle Of Joey Ramone
    10. City Of Blinding Lights

    Side 3 – Adam
    01. Vertigo
    02. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
    03. Electrical Storm
    04. The Fly
    05. If God Will Send His Angels
    06. Desire
    07. Until The End Of The World
    08. Song For Someone
    09. All I Want Is You
    10. Peace On Earth

    Side 4 – Bono
    01. With Or Without You
    02. Stay
    03. Sunday Bloody Sunday
    04. Lights Of Home
    05. Cedarwood Road
    06. I Will Follow
    07. Two Hearts Beat As One
    08. Miracle Drug
    09. The Little Things That Give You Away
    10. 40