Atmosphere Announce New Album, Share Origins of “Okay”: Exclusive

Inspired by 2020, the George Floyd protests, and more

Atmosphere So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously new album Okay song video stream
Atmosphere, photo by Dan Monick

    Origins is a recurring series giving artists a space to break down everything that went into their latest release. Today, Atmosphere’s Slug digs into their new single, “Okay.”

    Minnesota hip-hop duo Atmosphere have announced their new album, So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously, out May 5th via Rhymesayers Entertainment. As a preview, they’ve released the lead single, “Okay,” and its accompanying video. What’s more, they’ve announced an upcoming tour (grab your seats here).

    After releasing over two dozen studio albums in their more than 25-year career, Atmosphere explore unprecedented areas of discomfort on So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously. The impact of the 2020 lockdown and American civil unrest weaves together a narrative throughout the album of tension and paranoia. Vinyl and merch pre-orders are ongoing at Atmosphere’s website.


    “Okay” relays a message of comfort to those who are struggling in the current state of our world. The duo, made up of rapper Slug and producer Ant, felt deeply impacted by the events of 2020, including the murder of George Floyd, which happened in their hometown of Minneapolis.

    “Being here in this community during this time felt like we could no longer depend on our past experiences to guide us forward. there was a sense of progress, but also, shit was feeling dystopian,” Slug tells Consequence. “I wasn’t ready to turn my existence (or my car) into a Mad Max sequel. The dust is still settling, but I wrote this while wanting to remind my loved ones and myself that regardless of the external conflicts happening around us, we are here for each other.”

    Slug drops bars of positivity over a twinkling instrumental, expressing his hope for the future despite the circumstances. “It’ll be okay/ Even if you’re feeling like there ain’t no way,” he raps. “You’re still with us today/ It’s gonna be okay.”


    Check out the music video for “Okay” — featuring actor Taryn Manning, rappers Murs and Chino XL, and professional wrestler “Platinum” Max Caster — and read about the Slug’s inspirations for the single below.

    In support of the album, Atmosphere will head out on a run of European and US tour dates. See the schedule below. Tickets go on sale beginning Friday, February 24th at 10:00 a.m. local time via Ticketmaster. Look for deals on Stubhub once they sell out.

    So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously Artwork:

    Atmosphere So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously new album Okay song video stream

    So Many Other Realities Exist Simultaneously Tracklist:
    01. Okay
    02. Eventide (feat. Shepard Albertson)
    03. Sterling
    04. Dotted Lines
    05. In My Head
    06. Crop Circles
    07. Portrait
    08. It Happened Last Morning
    09. Thanxiety
    10. September Fools’ Day
    11. Talk Talk (feat. Bat Flower)
    12. Watercolors
    13. Holding My Breath
    14. Still Life (feat. Murkage Dave)
    15. After Tears (feat. Sa-Roc)
    16. Positive Space
    17. Bigger Pictures
    18. Truth & Nail
    19. Sculpting with Fire
    20. Alright (Okay Reprise)


    Atmosphere 2023 Tour Dates:
    05/11 – London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
    05/12 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
    05/13 – Cologne, DE @ Gebäude 9
    05/15 – Paris, FR @ La Bellevilloise
    05/17 – Berlin, DE @ Hole44
    05/19 – Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset
    05/20 – Stockholm, SE @ Kägelbanan
    05/21 – Oslo, NO @ Parkteatret
    05/25 – Monterey, CA @ Cali Roots
    06/16 – Greenwood Village, CO @ Fiddler’s Green