Lingua Ignota Announces Debut Album as Reverend Kristin Michael Hayter

She also unveiled the album's first single, "All My Friends Are Going to Hell"

Reverend Kristin Michael Hayter Lingua Ignota SAVED All My Friends Are Going To Hell new album single song stream watch video
Reverend Kristin Michael Hayter, photo by Rev. Herschel B. Rutherford

    Lingua Ignota is back… err, actually, “Lingua Ignota” is not back, but the mind behind the darkwave/noise/metal project, Kristin Hayter, is. Today, Hayter announced SAVED!, the debut album under her new name, Reverend Kristin Michael Hayter, which is due on October 20th via Perpetual Flame Ministries. She also shared the album’s first single, “All My Friends Are Going to Hell.” Listen to the song below.

    SAVED! marks a new era in Hayter’s career, as the Lingua Ignota project finally comes to a close (she first announced that she’d be retiring the moniker last year). As the press release for the new album explains, however, this move makes perfect sense in the wider context of Hayter’s artistic output. “Mirroring her personal evolution away from pain, she sheds the moniker that made her successful for its unflinching expression of lived trauma and instead builds herself anew, claiming her full given name, determined to see value within,” the release reads.

    The single, “All My Friends Are Going to Hell,” accentuates this, placing Hayter’s raw vocals in an arrangement so stripped back that it’s mostly a cappella. Along with this, the lyrics offer an Old Testament-coded warning on righteousness and salvation. “All of my friends are going to hell,” Hayter sings. “None of them know, from what I can tell/ I’m getting up from the place where I fell/ Lord, please forgive me/ I don’t want to be like my friends who are going to hell.” Watch the music video for the single below.


    SAVED! will be Hayter’s first release since launching the label, Perpetual Flame Ministries, last December. The album will be available on 1xLP, CD, cassette, and digital formats, with a couple of upgrade options for special, colored vinyl. Pre-orders are ongoing.

    SAVED! Artwork:

    Reverend Kristin Michael Hayter Lingua Ignota SAVED All My Friends Are Going To Hell new album single song stream watch video

    SAVED! Tracklist:
    01. I’m Getting Out While I Can
    02. All of My Friends Are Going to Hell
    03. There Is Power in the Blood
    04. Idumea
    05. I Will Be With You Always
    06. Precious Lord, Take My Hand
    07. May This Comfort and Protect You
    08. The Poor Wayfaring Stranger
    09. Nothing but the Blood
    10. I Know His Blood Can Make Me Whole
    11. How Can I Keep From Singing