New Van Halen Collection II Box Set Collects Sammy Hagar-Era Studio Albums, Rarities

A remastered version of the Twister soundtrack cut "Humans Being" can be streamed now

Van Halen Sammy Hagar-era box set
Van Halen, photo by Eika Aoshima

    A new Van Halen box set, The Collection II, has been announced and will arrive on October 6th via Rhino.

    Following the 2015 set, The Collection, which housed the band’s first six albums with David Lee Roth, The Collection II will cull the four Van Halen albums featuring singer Sammy Hagar in addition to several studio rarities and a B-side.

    Affectionately known as the “Van Hagar” years, Eddie Van Halen and company released four successful LPs while fronted by the Red Rocker during the ’80s and ’90s: 5150 (1986), OU812 (1988), For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge (1991), and Balance (1995).

    The Collection II will compile these records together for the first time on vinyl ($124.98) and CD ($49.98). A fifth disc, titled Studio Rarities 1989-2004, is especially of note for hardcore Van Halen enthusiasts. Among these eight tracks is “Crossing Over,” the B-Side to Balance’s “Can’t Stop Lovin’ You” (the band’s only non-album B-side) and the Twister soundtrack inclusion “Humans Being,” which can be streamed now in its newly remastered form.


    Unfortunately, a long-reported lost song from the Twister soundtrack sessions, reportedly titled “Between Us Two,” is not included, despite Hagar previously hinting that it might see the light of day as part of the Hagar-era reissues.

    You can pre-order The Collection II via this location. Stream the remastered version of “Humans Being” and see the box set art and complete tracklist below.

    The Collection II Artwork:

    van halen collection ii

    The Collection II Tracklist:

    LP1: 5150

    Side One
    01. Good Enough
    02. Why Can’t This Be Love
    03. Get Up
    04. Dreams
    05. Summer Nights

    Side Two
    01. Best Of Both Worlds
    02. Love Walks In
    03. 5150
    04. Inside

    LP2: OU812

    Side One
    01. Mine All Mine
    02. When It’s Love
    03. A.F.U. (Naturally Wired)
    04. Cabo Wabo

    Side Two
    01. Source Of Infection
    02. Feels So Good
    03. Finish What Ya Started
    04. Black And Blue
    05. Sucker In A 3 Piece

    LP3: For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge

    Side One
    01. Poundcake
    02. Judgement Day
    03. Spanked
    04. Runaround
    05. Pleasure Dome

    Side Two
    01. In ‘N’ Out
    02. Man On A Mission
    03. The Dream Is Over
    04. Right Now
    05. 316
    06. Top Of The World

    LP4: Balance

    Side One
    01. The Seventh Seal
    02. Can’t Stop Lovin’ You
    03. Don’t Tell Me (What Love Can Do)
    04. Amsterdam
    05. Big Fat Money
    06. Doin’ Time

    Side Two
    01. Aftershock
    02. Strung Out
    03. Not Enough
    04. Take Me Back (Déjà Vu)
    05. Feelin’

    LP5: Studio Rarities 1989-2004

    Side One
    01. A Apolitical Blues
    02. Crossing Over
    03. Baluchitherium

    Side Two
    01. Humans Being
    02. Respect The Wind
    03. It’s About Time
    04. Up For Breakfast
    05. Learning To See

    The Collection II Contents:

    Van Halen Collection II